Skip to main content
 

Academic Practice: Open Access resources

Recommended Open Access Resources

AGORA http://www.aginternetwork.org/en/
Access to Global Online Research in Agriculture.

BioMed Central http://www.biomedcentral.com/
Peer-reviewed Open Access journals in biomedical sciences, chemistry, physics and mathematics.

Chemical Sciences Article Repository http://www.rsc.org/Chemical-Sciences-Repository/articles/
The Royal Society of Chemistry has set up this subject repository making it easier for authors to deposit, share and discover OA articles from across the chemical sciences.

Dryad http://datadryad.org/ 
Research data and outputs digital repository for evolutionary biology and ecology. 

ECONPapers http://econpapers.repec.org/
Economics working papers.

ESRC Research Catalogue http://www.esrc.ac.uk/impacts-and-findings/research-catalogue/index.aspx
Contains details of over 100,000 research outputs from ESRC-funded research projects.

Hindawi http://www.hindawi.com/
Open Access journals in science, technology and medicine.

KULTUR http://kultur.eprints.org/
JISC-funded project exploring repositories for the creative and applied arts.

Nature Precedings http://precedings.nature.com/
Pre-published, non peer-reviewed research 2007-2012.

OAIster http://www.oclc.org/oaister/
International coverage of institutional and other types of repository.

OpenDOAR http://www.opendoar.org/
OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories) provides access to academic Open Access repositories from around the world. You can browse or search for repositories and their content.

Public Knowledge Project http://pkp.sfu.ca/ojs-journals
A sample of journals using Open Journal Systems in all subject areas.

Public Library of Science http://www.plos.org/
Peer-reviewed Open Access journals in medical and life sciences.

PubMed Central http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/
Major Open Access repository for biomedical and life sciences.

RCUK Gateway to Research http://gtr.rcuk.ac.uk/ 
Search for and analyse information from RCUK-funded projects available open access.

ROAR (Registry of Open Access Repositories) http://roar.eprints.org/
Directory of worldwide Open Access academic repositories.

Social Sciences Research Network http://www.ssrn.com/en/
Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the dissemination of social science research and contains the work of 264,800 authors globally.

UNESCO OA Curriculum for Librarians and Researchers
Modules available as part of UNESCO's OA Program to support researchers in finding OA resources and publishing OA.

Or try the quality OA resources listed here:
Where to find new scholarly research papers: 30 key, free websites

HE teaching resources from elsewhere

Major collections of educational resources available from elsewhere. We have tried to focus on resources which are open access and available for repurposing, but please check the terms and conditions of each resource.

Newcastle University ePrints

ePrints provides free access to research deposited by Newcastle University staff.

Search Newcastle University ePrints or Browse for a specific Newcastle author.

ePrints is constantly growing - see publications recently added.

Regional and National Institutional Repositories

For a list of all UK institutional repositories see OpenDOAR.

eTheses

You can search Newcastle eTheses or browse by title, date, author or subject.

The British Library host EThOS - Electronic Theses Online.

EThOS

Open Access books

Most Open Access activity so far has been focused on journal articles. However, various projects are emerging with regard to Open Access books, particularly in the humanities and social sciences. Various funding and licensing models are being explored.

Finding material online - Google and Beyond: Not Google by Karen Blakeman