Conference papers are useful for finding very up to date information. New research might be presented at a conference before it is published in a traditional journal. In Engineering, for example, conference papers are a common dissemination method.
Conference Proceedings can be expensive, so the Library may not hold all the conference papers you need. You can use Inter Library Loans to request individual papers or whole proceedings.
Finding conferences in the Library: Search for conference proceedings in LibrarySearch by topic. Click on Advanced Search, type "conference" into the first box and a subject into the second box.When searching for a specific conference, try entering key title words and/or acronyms rather than the full title
Finding conferences to attend: Attending conferences in your subject field is a great way to build up contacts and start to network with other researchers. They are also useful to find out about new developments.Once you've started your research, presenting at conferences is a valuable way to publicly discuss and obtain feedback on your research.
AllConferences indexes upcoming conferences in all subjects
Conference Alerts indexes academic conferences
conference-service.com lists scientific conferences
Standards: Standards are codes of best practice containing technical specifications and guidelines. They are used to ensure uniformity and consistency, reliability and safety and provide a quality benchmark. Many standards are produced by national bodies, but some are produced internationally or by industry. Find British, European and ISO Standards, ASTM, IEEE and many others using our Standards Guide
Go directly to British Standards online
The Environmental Management database contains full text of documents from all organisations with an interest in any aspect of the environment, including government publications.
Agriculture, forestry and fishery statistics The EC Agriculture, forestry and fishery statistics pocketbook presents a selection of topical data. Information is presented for the European Union and its Member States.
The National Food Survey is now part of the Living Costs and Food module of the Integrated Household Survey
Salmonid and freshwater fisheries Statistics for England and Wales reports for commercial and recreational fisheries in England and Wales. Includes declared catches for salmon, sea trout, eels, smelt and lamprey by rods, nets and other instruments.
Online maps: Online access to UK maps is provided through Digimap. Once registered, you can login using your campus ID.
For more detailed information and links to many other resources see the Maps Guide
It's important to ensure that any images you use in your academic work are free of copyright restrictions .
The Image Guide contains information and links to many copyright free image databanks. Listed below are those most relevant to Biology.
Lexis indexes current UK newspapers and Nexis indexes International newspapers. See our separate News Subject Guide for a comprehensive listing of all our news resources.