Skip to main content
 

Business: BIPC Newcastle

A Guide to library resources and information for Accounting and Finance, Economics, Business, Human Resource Management, Innovation and Enterprise, Marketing, Strategy and Operations staff and students

What is BIPC@Newcastle

The Business & IP Centre Newcastle supports entrepreneurs, inventors and small businesses in the North East, from that very first spark of inspiration to successfully launching and developing a business.

Visit the Centre for advice and guidance on areas including:

  • Intellectual property – including patents, trade marks, registered design and copyright;
  • General start-up advice – funding sources, market research, company data and business news;
  • Business support – one-to-one coaching, training workshops, networking and events;

Business & IP Centre Newcastle is a partnership between Newcastle City Council, Newcastle Science City, Northumbria University and the British Library, with support from the European Regional Development Fund.

Newcastle was the first regional Business and IP Centre to launch in September 2011. In addition to Newcastle city library, the British Library has now collaborated with five other core city libraries in England (Birmingham, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, and Sheffield). Together, the network of centres opens up business resources to communities throughout the country. The network is supported by the Intellectual Property Office, DCLG and Arts Council through direct funding and via the Enterprising Libraries project.

This project is part-financed by the Competitiveness and Employment European Regional Development Fund Programme 2007 to 2013.

They are happy to receive both students and staff from the University to use the resources at the Centre.

This guide summarises what is available from the BIPC. Further information is available on their website

Business news and journals

The BIPC also provides access to print and/or online versions of many business related magazines and news type resources :

  • BQ
  • Investors Chronicle
  • MAD (Marketing Week Journal)
  • MoneyFacts
  • Property Week
  • Wired Magazine

@BIPCNewcastle on Twitter

Electronic Resources online via the 24 Hour Library

The following resources are available to access online from the 24 Hour Library from Newcastle Public Libraries and are relevant for academic study.

This means if you have joined the library service (and who wouldn't since its free!) you can access these web resources from your computer by logging in with your public library account details.


Online resources which we don't have within our subscriptions at Newcastle University are:

  • 19th Century British Library Newspapers
  • British Standards Online
  • CANS Advice Notes
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online
  • Life in Great Britain
  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
  • Oxford Dictionaries Pro
  • Oxford Art Online
  • Oxford English Dictionary Online
  • Oxford Music Online
  • Oxford Reference Online
  • Theory Test Pro
  • Times Digital Archive
  • Universal Skills

Contact BIPC@Newcastle

  Telephone: 0191 277 4100
 

  Email:

  bipcnewcastle@newcastle.gov.uk

  Address:
  Newcastle City Library
  Charles Avison Building
  33 New Bridge Street West
  Newcastle upon Tyne
  NE1 8AX

Electronic Resources on City Library computers

The resources listed below are available to access at Newcastle City Library only. Please ask a member of staff within the public library about accessing these resources within the Library.

 

 

 

 

KeyNote reports provide analysis of a range of market sectors. from thousands of UK based marketing reports. They include information on brand strategy, buying behaviour, competitor analysis, market forecasts and SWOT/PEST analysis. Also contains up to 5 years of company financial information for more than 7 million UK companies and includes PLC’s, Limited Companies and LLP’s. Some restrictions in place regarding downloads.

 

COBRA is a business encyclopaedia covering all aspects of starting and running a business. From writing a business plan to expanding an existing business, COBRA contains around 4000 factsheets, market reports, contacts, and sources of funding and support to help entrepreneurs and their advisers.

 

Which? publishes unbiased information to help consumers and customers make informed decisions about products and companies. Searchable online versiob of the definitive consumer magazine.

 

 

A marketing tool for generating up to date telemarketing and mailing lists containing over 2 million UK business listings. This resource operates on a credit system so there are associated costs to use and download lists.

Provides information on companies, their directors, original documents and news from 219    countries. Find information on a certain company or compare and analyse companies matching a certain profile. Each report and list can be modified to fit your information need. The integrated ownership database provides information on subsidiaries and owners on a global scale.

 

provides information on companies, their directors, and news in the UK. Find information on a certain company or compare and analyse companies matching a certain profile. Each report and list can be modified to fit your information need. The integrated ownership database provides information on subsidiaries and owners on a global scale.

Mintel Oxygen is the world’s leading online market research database. If you are in business or thinking of starting up you have to know the latest market issues. Mintel provides these through dozens of market reports produced every month by leading experts. In addition Mintel provides company profile information, the latest industry news and much more. From attitudes to cosmetic surgery to Gas supply and distribution there is a Mintel report your business needs.

Local Data Online (LDO) provides the most comprehensive and up-to-date analysis of the retail & leisure markets in Great Britain. Through its online analytics, Explorer and Dashboard, you can access information on shops in and around 2,700 locations, 450 business types and across thousands of companies, and view on easy-to-read diagrams and maps what is happening across thousands of high streets, retail parks and shopping centres

Got an idea? Need info on intellectual property

Newcastle City Library is a designated PATLIB UK centre and they are the only library providing specialist patent information between Leeds and Glasgow. The Centre is supported by the UK Intellectual Property Office and the European Patent Office.

They provide a range of services to support you through trade marks, copyright and patents.

  • Information packs and specialists leaflets
  • Free Information Property Clinics; various times available 
  • Access to historical British patent abstracts and name indexes from 1617 to 1930.
  • Patent and Trade mark searches; please contact the centre for more information.

(Image courtesy of Chuck Choker at : http://www.flickr.com/photos/caveman_92223/3346906435/lightbox/)

Events and workshops

The Newcastle BIPC in colloboration with a range of supporters offer a whole range of useful workshops and events. I'd recommend checking out their events page for specific ones on some of the online resources they subscribe to.

Access to Research

Access to Research service is a pioneering scheme offering free online access to academic journals and conference proceedings in Newcastle Libraries across the city.

It is available to the general public (although in order to view them you will need to physically view them on a computer at a public library)

Subjects include business & economics. These supplement the journals we have subscriptions to at the University Library.
See : http://freetoviewjournals.pls.org.uk/