Skip to main content
 

Business: Archives and Special Collections

A Guide to library resources and information for Accounting and Finance, Economics, Business, Human Resource Management, Innovation and Enterprise, Marketing, Strategy and Operations staff and students

What are Special Collections?

Special Collections are unique and rare resources held by Newcastle University's Robinson's Library.  We hold both archives and rare books.

Due to their rarity and their sometimes fragile condition, these items are not on the normal library shelves, but they are available to everyone in the Special Collections reading room.

What Collections are Available in the Robinson Library?

This guide will point you in the direction of some collections which are particularly relevant to your subject area.

For a wider look at more of our collections, and to see tips on ordering and using archives and rare books, there is also a Special Collections LibGuide ...

Rare Books Outside of the 'Rare Book Collections'

Not all of our rare books are in 'collections' with particular relevance to your subject area, we also have hundreds of rare and unique books which were acquired by the library individually, across a range of subjects, which might also be valuable to your research.

Just a few to get you started ...

We have plenty more ...

All of our rare books are on the library catalogue, so start your search by entering your topic area, author, or title into library search in the normal way.

To view items within the Special Collections department, you can then refine your search by clicking on the Special Collections Location.

Loebl (Herbert) Archive

Herbert Loebl moved to the North East of England as a refugee from Nazi Germany and remained in the area for the rest of his life, becoming an important industrialist in the region and a major employer.  Loebl specialised in the production of high-tech scientific equipment focussed mainly on the newly emerging medical laboratory analysis market.

This collection consists of business records for the various engineering and knowledge transfer enterprises with which Herbert Loebl was involved in his lifetime, and also a collection of personal records which cover a large range of topics including local events in Newcastle upon Tyne and Northumbria and events within the local Jewish community.

Type of Material: Archives

Subject Areas:  Electrical and Electronic Engineering   Manufacturing Engineering   Bioengineering   Knowledge Transfer   Business   Export   Marketing   Social History   Political History

More on Loebl (Herbert) Archive...

Jubilee 2000 Papers

The Jubilee 2000 papers were acquired for the Library by Dr. David Golding, formerly of the School of Marine Science and Technology and a founder of the Jubilee Debt Campaign. They include papers, booklets, printed material, media recordings and petitions associated with Jubilee 2000, the coalition which spearheaded the international campaign to cancel the debts of the world's poorest countries.  The campaign culminated in 2000, and the papers cover the period from 1996-2000.

Type of Material: Archives

Subject Areas:  Economics  Politics  Social History  Sustainability and Climate Change

More on Jubilee 2000 Archive...

Bell (Maurice) Collection

Collection of books, most of which belonged to Gertrude Bell's father, Sir Hugh Bell, and her grandfather Sir Lowthian Bell, both industrialists, given to the University Library by Gertrude's brother, Maurice Bell (1871-1944.) Strengths include economics and industry, particularly coal mining, railways and chemistry, but also includes works on iron, steel, explosive and oyster fisheries.

Type of Material: Rare Books

Subject Areas:  Chemical Engineering  Chemistry  Civil Engineering  Economics 

Mechanical Engineering

More on Bell (Maurice) Collection...

Bloodaxe Books Archive

The Bloodaxe Books archive comprises of material dating from the creation of the publishing press in 1978, specialising in poetry. This largely consists of editorial material detailing the production of publications from its many internationally renowned authors, who have won virtually every major literary award given to poetry, from the T.S. Eliot Prize and Pulitzer to the Nobel Prize, including Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah, Irina Ratushinskaya, Miroslav Holub, Anne Stephenson and Simon Armitage.

The Collection also includes marketing, business and financial records.

Type of Material: Archives

Subject Areas:  Literature  Creative Writing  Business

More on Bloodaxe Books Archive...

Grey Tracts

Reflect the interests of their former owner, the 2nd Earl Grey (1764-1845) whose Whig government was responsible for the 1832 Reform Act, 1833 Factory Act and the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act. The pamphlets cover a broad range of historical, social and economic subjects including colonial policy, public finance and banking, the Corn Laws and agriculture, poor relief, slavery, Catholicism, Ireland and the Greek Revolution.

Type of Material: Rare Books / Published Material

Subject Areas:  Economics  Political History  Politics  Social History

More on Grey (2nd Earl) Tracts...

Joicey Coal Mining Records

Material relating to the James Joicey (d. 1863) mining company, and its successor bodies, which operated several collieries in the West Durham coalfield including pits at Beamish and Tanfield. The material covers the period 1843-1929 and includes an invoice book, letter book, memoranda and copies of leases and plans, including a volume of copies of leases and plans of coal mines and cottages near or at Beamish.

Type of Material: Archives

Subject Areas:  Civil Engineering   Local History  Planning

More on Joicey Coal Mining Archives...

Randell (Professor Brian) Archive

Brian Randell was born in Cardiff (16 April 1936) and educated at Imperial College London. From 1957 until 1964 he was employed in the Atomic Power Division of the English Electric Company Ltd, Whetstone Leicester, including working on compilers for the ALGOL 60 language. From 1964 to 1969 he worked for IBM at the T.J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, New York, and later in California, specialising in computer architectures, operating systems and system design methodology. In 1969 he was appointed Professor of Computing Science at Newcastle University, becoming Emeritus Professor following his retirement.

The archive relates to Professor Randell's professional and academic associations throughout his career.

Type of Material: Archives

Subject Areas:  Computer Science  Business Management

More on Randell (Professor Brian) Archive...