Skip to main content
 

Business: Resources provided by the Business School

A Guide to library resources and information for Accounting and Finance, Economics, Business, Human Resource Management, Innovation and Enterprise, Marketing, Strategy and Operations staff and students

Datastream from the Business School

The Business School provides access for postgraduate taught and research students to Datastream. It is available on all 26 computers in the cluster on the 4th floor in Downing Plaza.

Datastream is the world's largest historical financial database, containing up to 50 years of data. Data is available on worldwide equities (companies), stock market indices, unit trusts, investment trusts, bonds & convertibles, bond indices & CDS, warrants, interest rates, futures, options and commodities.

What is Datastream?

Databases through Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a web-based business data research service from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. They have a mixture of free and additionally subscribed databases from this one uniform platform.


Why use WRDS?
If you need access to data which includes stock markets indices, bond prices, interest rates, stock ownership, trading volumes and information on companies and industry reports. Primarily North America in focus but China covers through sub database, CSMAR.

Through this platform we have access to:

    Bank Regulatory
    Blockholders
    CBOE Indexes
    CUSIP
    DMEF Academic Data
    Dow Jones
    FDIC (Federal Deposit Insurance)
    Fama French and Liquidity Factors
    Federal Reserve Bank
    PHLX
    Penn World Tables
    SEC order execution
    TRACE

Through additional paid subscriptions we have access to:

COMPUSTAT (S&P Capital IQ's Compustat North America) This is a database of financial, statistical and market information on active and inactive global companies throughout the world. Provides data for historical companies which is standardised.

CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices)  The database provides information on security prices, return and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets. Help video at: Overview of CRSP Database http://wrds-web.wharton.upenn.edu/wrds/E-Learning/_000Video/Overview_of_CRSP/index.cfm

CSMAR The China Stock Market & Accounting Research. This database provides information on the Chinese stock market and the financial statements of listed firms.

LSPD The London Share Price Database (LSPD) is a comprehensive database of UK stock returns covering some 10,000 UK shares from 1955 to date.

All Business School staff and PGT/PGR students can register for an account via :

http://wrds-web.wharton.upenn.edu/wrds/

You’ll receive an email once your account has been authorized.

Each platform features comprehensive online help.

If you require further help or support please ask your Supervisor or Module Leader.

NB., You must be logged in, and have an account on WRDS, to access the help features.

View the following ELearning tutorials available once you've logged in on the WRDS website.

Review the Support and Research tabs, offering a host of resources including:

Getting Started with WRDS

Research Applications and Sample Programs

Three Ways of Working with WRDS

Using WRDS Web Queries

Loading

Thomson One including WorldScope and I/B/E/S

A web-based platform providing news from Reuters, charts, market rates, deals, estimates, financials and ownership.

Subscription by the Business School covers Foundation + Deals + Worldscope/Fundamentals + I/B/E/S (includes Events) + Spreadsheet Link

Bloomberg terminals

The Business School provides access to Bloomberg for all Students. It is available on 12 computers located in the cluster on the 4th floor in Downing Plaza with priority going to Bloomberg users.

The Bloomberg Terminal is a computer software system provided by the financial data vendor Bloomberg L.P. that enables professionals in the financial service sector and other industries to access the Bloomberg Professional service through which users can monitor and analyse real-time financial market data and place trades on the electronic trading platform. The system also provides news, price quotes, and messaging across its proprietary secure network.