Skip to main content
 

History, Classics and Archaeology: Finding books and theses

Useful news and help with information resources within and beyond the Library for anyone studying in the School of History, Classics and Archaeology at Newcastle University.

Getting started

We've got over one million print books in the library, and access to over six million ebooks. So if you're looking for a book, you've come to the right place!

However, with so many titles available, don't get lost in the shelves. Make sure you know the most efficient way of finding the books you want - by starting here....

Library Search

     

Find books, journals, articles and other resources, whether print or electronic, with Library Search

For each item, Library Search will tell you:

  • the Library in which it is held
  • how long the book can be borrowed (long loan is four weeks, but there are Student Text Collection four hour loans as well)
  • the location and shelfmark, which you will need in order to find the book on the shelf, if it's in print
  • the status, which will tell you if a book is out on loan and when it is due back 

Library Search: what do your results mean?

:

Search Google books

New ebook collections on trial!

We've got the following ebook collections on trial:

Oxford Scholarly Editions: Romantics Poetry

We currently subscribe to several modules in this collection, and we now have trial access to all 25 titles in the Romantics Poetry collection. These full text literary works include editorial annotations, and enable you to track changes between editions. Here is a list of the titles on trial. This trial ends on October 24th 2017.

 

Oxford Scholarship Online: Philosophy

We already have access to several modules in this collection, and we now have trial access to all 2,000 titles in the Philosophy collection. All the titles have been temporarily added to Library Search, or you can browse from the above link. This trial ends on December 31st 2017.

Please explore and send us your feedback!

ebook collections

Library Search enables you to search across all print and ebook collections. However, if you want to search/browse ebooks from a particular supplier or collection, you can find links to subject specific ebook collections below.

Loading

Finding theses

July 15, 1944

There isn't one single source for finding non-UK theses, and access options will vary according to the institution, but the links below give the best starting points.

Loading