Skip to main content
 

Distance Learners: Journals

University Library Services for distance learners

EJournals and Databases

As a Newcastle University Distance Learner you have access to over 17,000 EJournals. Use Library Search set to "Everything" to find books and journal articles. Your results will include both print and electronic resources. Use the refine options on the left to limit to Full Text Online. To search or browse specific ejournal collections go to the eJournals web pages

EJournals - Points to note:

Some eJournal collections will work directly in your browser, just requiring you to login with your Newcastle ID. Others are restricted by IP address; for these collections you need to access the campus network via RAS (see box below)

Databases

For a comprehensive overview of the literature on your topic, you can search a database. You'll find databases recommended for your subject on your subject Library Guide

Databases - Points to note:

Some results of your database search may only be available in printed form at Newcastle, or we may not own them at all. If material is available here in print, you may be able to request a scan - see the box on the left. NB. We cannot offer an Inter Library loan service outside the UK for material we do not own

Connecting to the Newcastle network using RAS

RAS

 

RAS (Remote Application Service) provides a method of using University IT facilities – software, printers, internal web pages, and your own documents – 24/7 from any Internet connection, in particular from your own computer.

Log in at ras.ncl.ac.uk

The system is easy to use, works on all main operating systems and is accessed via your Web browser. We provide the vast majority of ISS Cluster applications through RAS.

When you print a document from RAS, if the default printer connected to your computer is compatible with the system then it should be listed as the first choice.

Since RAS is running applications on the University’s servers, depending on your Internet connection speed and stability the applications on RAS may run more slowly than any applications that you have on your computer.

Print journals in Newcastle stock

The Desktop Delivery Service allows you to request copies of journal articles which are held within our print collections.

You will need to use Library Search to identify if we hold the journal title in stock. If we only have print access to the journal, you will be able to request the journal article.

Your request will be satisfied within 24 hours (Monday - Friday) excluding Bank Holidays. Once the article has been scanned you will receive an email containing download details

Request limits: up to 30 items (books and photocopies) IN TOTAL per academic year. There maybe copyright restrictions in place where occasionally we are unable to supply the item.

Inter Library loans for journals

Items not available in Newcastle University Library can be requested for you via the Inter-Library Loan service.
Please use Library Search to identify if we have the item within our collections at Newcastle.
If we do not hold the item and you are based within the UK, it may be possible to apply for an Inter Library Loan.

You will need to check the British Library catalogue to see if it is available.

How many Inter Library Loans can you have per academic year?
Undergraduates: 25 ILL's
Postgraduates: 50 ILL's

How much does it cost?
The current charge is £1.50 for each request. The University Library will pay the rest of the costs which is currently around £17.50

How to add money to your Inter Library Loan Account?
You will need to have a minimum of 4 credits (i.e. £6) in your account to make requests.
There are different ways to add money to your Inter Library Loan account, including via telephone with your credit/debit card.

How do I request?
Use the Web based Inter-Library Loans service to request the item(s).

How will I receive the journal article?

Inter Library Loan requests made for articles and chapters from books are supplied via SED (Secure Electronic Delivery). Before submitting your first Inter-library Loan request you must check that you can open and read an SED document, your computer should have installed Adobe Reader 4 or above and the FileOpen plug-in.

Further information on SED