Skip to main content
 

NHS Users: Home

A guide to Library services and resources for our NHS members

NHS Users

Logo courtesy of Wikimedia Commons.

The University has an agreement with the NHS to allow its staff who are employed within the Northern region to become members of the Library.

The 'region' covers a wide area.  Please check with the Library if you are unsure if your place of work is within this area.

 

 

Library Search

Library Search enables you to explore our high quality resources, such as books and DVDs from the library catalogue, as well as journal articles from many of our databases.

"Sounds good! So why should I still bother searching specialist databases such as ERIC, Historical Abstracts or Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts, if Library Search can find everything?"

You're likely to benefit from more advanced search options, and get more precise search results, if you use specialist databases. For example, you'll often get more sophisticated options for narrowing down your search, setting up alerts and choosing search terms using a built-in thesaurus.

Specialist databases usually just focus on particular subject areas (e.g. music, film studies, linguistics), whereas Library Search covers all topics. Therefore, searching specialist databases should give you more focused and relevant results.

Library Search doesn't index everything. In particular, specialist materials such as historic newspapers and archives aren't covered. Not sure what's included in Library Search? Full list here.

 

 

So.... Library Search is great for finding books, DVDs and certain other resources, and is a helpful starting point for a wider search of journal articles. However, for a more precise and relevant search, please explore our specialist subject databases as well.

 

Joining the Library

To join the Library we need to see verification of your status as a current NHS employee in the region, and you have to come to the Library to register as we need to take a photograph for your Smartcard.

Please note - we do not accept ID cards as verification because they are undated.

For most NHS staff a recent NHS payslip (from the last 3 months) is what is required as verification.

Dental staff can show official headed practice notepaper giving name of applicant and stating that the practice treats NHS patients

Other NHS employees entitled to membership and what they need to supply as verification -

Hospice staff - headed organisational notepaper giving name of applicant

Specialist NHS nurses such as Marie Curie or Macmillan - headed organisational notepaper giving name of applicant.

HM Prison Service and MOD clinicians and nurses - current MOD payslip and Trust ID card. Both to be presented at time of joining.

Health and social care charities staff only those who provide services to NHS patients which are free at the point of delivery - should apply to their NHS library or their NHS OpenAthens administrator who will email them a letter of verification to be presented at time of joining.

NHS contractors and partners such as treatment centres, private hospitals, secure units, mental disability care - These must be working in consultation with Health Education North East and NHS partners. Access will be arranged on a case by case basis. Staff wishing to access the service should contact the Library before coming to register

Social services staff with a health care remit employed by local authorities and statutory bodies working in support of, or in conjunction with the NHS. Access will be arranged on a case by case basis. Staff wishing to access the service should contact the Library before coming to register

Pharmacists - only those who provide services to NHS patients which are free at the point of delivery - should apply to their NHS Library or their NHS OpenAthens administrator who will email them a letter of verification to be presented at time of joining

Please email us at lib-walton-rs@ncl.ac.uk  if your job is not mentioned here to find out if you are entitled to join.

How to join - complete a form when you come to the Library. You must also bring satisfactory verification with you as outlined above. Please ensure you visit during full desk opening hours.

Public Information Film

This short Public Information film from 1948 showed the public how the new NHS services would affect an ordinary family.

Senior Library Assistant, Walton Library

Judith Metcalf
Contact:
Walton Library

0191 208 8109

How to find us

The Walton Library is located on the 5th floor of the Catherine Cookson building in the Medical School.

The Medical School main entrance is just off Claremont Road in Newcastle upon Tyne. See Campus map below for location.

We are building number 60 on this Campus map