Skip to main content
 

Education, Communication & Language Sciences: Welcome

Library guide for resources in ECLS subjects

New trial: Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

 

 

 

We have trial access to the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection from EBSCO until Monday 29th February 2016. Access this full-text Collection and please email Julia Robinson with any feedback or queries.

Offering over 500 full-text, peer-reviewed journal titles, this comprehensive resource covers anthropology, emotional and behavioural characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods, psychiatry and psychology. With key titles including 'Educational and Child Psychology', this Collection has particularly strong coverage of child and adolescent psychology and counselling. See the full title list or find out more

New resource on trial: The Telegraph Historical Archive

 

 

 

The Library has The Telegraph Historical Archive 1855-2000 on trial until 29th February 2016. This was once the world's largest selling newspaper, and the archive contains over a million pages of content, including the Sunday edition from its inception in 1961. It offers an insight into domestic and international affairs and culture over almost 150 years.

Please try it out and send us your feedback, thanks!

New resource on trial: Drama Online

The Library has a trial of Drama Online until 18th March 2016. This contains various different collections:

  • the text of over 1,200 international plays, from ancient Greek drama to contemporary works.
  • films of twenty Shakespeare plays performed at the Globe Theatre, plus audio recordings of key performances from Los Angeles Theatre Works.
  • a variety of contextual resources relating to drama theory and practice, including interviews with actors, stage and costume design, and biographical information.

Please explore this resource and send us your feedback, thank you. 

NB If you're on campus, you don't need to log in. If you're off campus, please log in to RAS first of all, and then go the Drama Online page.

New ebook collection on trial: Bloomsbury

The Library has a trial of Bloomsbury's ebook collections until 31st March 2016. This comprises over 4,000 academic ebooks across a wide range of humanities and social sciences subjects, including history, law, archaeology, education, literature, linguistics and cultural studies. The books are included individually on Library Search, or you can access them from the Bloomsbury Collections site.

If you're accessing the books off-campus, please log in to RAS first of all.

Please try it out and send us your feedback

Our new library building is now open!

Read our latest Library newsletter for ECLS!

Book a Library consultancy

Need more in-depth guidance with your dissertation, thesis or project literature search? Why not book a one-to-one consultancy with our helpful and knowledgeable Library liaison team?

As you'll see from the feedback above, many other students have found these appointments really helpful. Whether you're starting out and don't know where to begin, or further forward with your research, but worried you've missed something...or somewhere in the middle.....we're here to help!

In your consultancy, we'll discuss your information needs in more detail, and suggest useful resources for you within and beyond the Library. We'll explain how to get the best out of them, and give you a personalised search plan to help you get organised.

We can help you in person or online, and we'll do our best to meet you on a day and time which suits you.

Book your appointment now for tailor-made advice. 

Your literature search in numbers

Three things in three minutes: what you need to know about our Library

It's as easy as one, two, three!.....

This short video, for students in Arts, Humanities and Education, tells you the key things you need to know to get the best out of our Library. Useful for new students....or a refresher for returners.

Faculty liaison librarian

Lucy Keating
Contact:
Tel. 0191 208 7656

My office is Room 303 on Level 3 of the Robinson Library.
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact

Assistant liaison librarian

Julia Robinson
Contact:
Email: julia.robinson@ncl.ac.uk

Tel: 0191 208 5246

My office is located on Level 3 of the Robinson Library

Liaison assistant

Angela Horn
Contact:
Level 4 Liaison Office

Robinson Library

Newcastle University

0191 2085414

Welcome

Welcome to the Library Guide for students and staff in the School of Education, Communication and Language Sciences (ECLS).  

 

 copyright@coolgraphic.org

Click on the tabs above for detailed information on different subjects and resources for ECLS students. 

Contact the ECLS Liaison Team if you need any help and advice.

Library News

Loading

New academic year: new stuff! Explore the great new resources we've bought over the summer!

 

Loading

Other guides which might interest you....

The Informed Researcher, our online guide for researchers, takes you through the entire research process, from developing ideas, to managing your research, to keeping up to date and disseminating your findings. We'll show you how the Library can help at all stages.

Loading