Skip to main content
 

Education, Communication & Language Sciences: Are you a researcher?

Library guide for resources in ECLS subjects

Other guides which might interest you....

Loading

Researcher? We're here to help

Read our new research support leaflet

Whatever your stage of research, from preparation to publication, the Library is here to help you!

We're pleased to launch our brand new leaflet highlighting the many services we can offer you. Even if you've been at the University a while, you might not know about everything we do, so please take a look.

Contact details for all the specific services are included in the leaflet. If you would like extra print copies for your research group or an event, please just get in touch. 

Book a Library one-to-one appointment

Need more in-depth guidance with your dissertation, thesis or project literature search? Why not book a one-to-one appointment with our helpful and knowledgeable Library liaison team?

As you'll see from the feedback above, many other students have found these appointments really helpful. Whether you're starting out and don't know where to begin, or further forward with your research, but worried you've missed something...or somewhere in the middle.....we're here to help!

In your consultancy, we'll discuss your information needs in more detail, and suggest useful resources for you within and beyond the Library. We'll explain how to get the best out of them, and give you a personalised search plan to help you get organised.

We can help you in person or online, and we'll do our best to meet you on a day and time which suits you.

Book your appointment now for tailor-made advice. 

Can social media help with my research?

You might use social media services such as Facebook, Twitter and Youtube in your personal life, but have you ever thought of using them in your research? Could a wiki help you collaborate with others? Would Twitter have alerted you to that important conference? Are podcasts and videos likely to interest people in your research? How can RSS feeds save you loads of time and keep you up to date?

Why not explore our guide to social media for research, which aims to show you how the latest social media tools can help you at all stages in your research, from thinking of ideas, to searching for references, to collaborating with others..

We've illustrated it with real life examples, and provided tips and advice in our 3 minute tutorials, as well as links to try things out for yourself or learn more.

We hope you find it useful - please let us know what you think about it.

About EndNote


 What is EndNote?

EndNote is a bibliographic database software package designed to make your academic life a little bit easier by allowing you to build a collection of references for your research. It can help take the stress out of referencing properly, helping you organise your lists of references and create bibliographies. It allows you to :

  • Find and import references downloaded from library catalogues and databases direct into your own personal EndNote Library
  • Store, organise and search for references in your EndNote Library
  • Add correct citations to your word-processed document and create your bibliography in a number of citation styles

 Why use EndNote?

  • You need to provide good references to all sources used to avoid plagiarism - EndNote makes this easier!
  • Using EndNote ensures you cite your references in the correct style for your School or purpose

 

Find out more?

      Finding theses

      July 15, 1944

      There isn't one single source for finding non-UK theses, and access options will vary according to the institution, but the links below give the best starting points.

      Loading

      Access to resources elsewhere

      How can you search other catalogues? How can you find out what archives and special collections are held elsewhere, from York to New York and all points in between? Click on the tabs for guidance to help you track down what you require: locally, nationally and internationally. 

      You might also find it helpful to use our two services below: 

      Loading