Skip to main content
 

Countryside Management and Rural Studies:: Find other Cm & RS resources

Library resources for students and staff

Conferences, theses, standards & official documents

Conference papers are useful for finding very up to date information. New research might be presented at a conference before it is published in a traditional journal. In Engineering, for example, conference papers are a common dissemination method.

Conference Proceedings can be expensive, so the Library may not hold all the conference papers you need. You can use Inter Library Loans to request individual papers or whole proceedings.

Finding conferences in the Library: Search for conference proceedings in LibrarySearch by topic. Click on Advanced Search, type "conference" into the first box and a subject into the second box.When searching for a specific conference, try entering key title words and/or acronyms rather than the full title

Subject specific resources: Most subject specific databases index conferences; look for the option to limit your search by document type to conference papers. Some examples which include a lot of conference papers include:

Web of Knowledge   Includes the Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present)

 Zetoc  from the British Library indexes over 100,000 conference papers from 1993 onwards. The BL catalogue lists all the conferences held by the British Library.

Google  Search by keyword and add the word 'conference' and the year to your search eg 'biology conference 2011'

Conference Papers Index
Available via the Proquest service, CPI provides an index to papers given at conferences from around the world. CPI dates from 1982 and covers engineering, physical, life and environmental sciences.

Finding conferences to attend: Attending conferences in your subject field is a great way to build up contacts and start to network with other researchers. They are also useful to find out about new developments.Once you've started your research, presenting at conferences is a valuable way to publicly discuss and obtain feedback on your research.

AllConferences indexes upcoming conferences in all subjects

Conference Alerts indexes academic conferences

conference-service.com lists scientific conferences

 
WikiCFP  has calls for papers collated on a wiki
 

Standards: Standards are codes of best practice containing technical specifications and guidelines. They are used to ensure uniformity and consistency, reliability and safety and provide a quality benchmark. Many standards are produced by national bodies, but some are produced internationally or by industry. Find British, European and ISO Standards, ASTM, IEEE and many others using our Standards Guide

Go directly to British Standards online

Government documents: Official documents can be government publications but can also be reports and surveys from other organisations. You'll find lots of detailed information on different kinds of Government Publications on our  Government Publications Guide 

The Environmental Management database contains full text of documents from all organisations with an interest in any aspect of the environment, including government publications.

Agriculture, forestry and fishery statistics The EC Agriculture, forestry and fishery statistics pocketbook presents a selection of topical data. Information is presented for the European Union and its Member States.

The National Food Survey is now part of the Living Costs and Food module of the Integrated Household Survey

Salmonid and freshwater fisheries Statistics for England and Wales  reports for commercial and recreational fisheries in England and Wales. Includes declared catches for salmon, sea trout, eels, smelt and lamprey by rods, nets and other instruments.

Loading

Maps, Images and media

Image of a geological mapPrinted maps: The Philip Robinson Library provides access to a range of online and print maps including: Ordnance Survey, Geological Survey, Historic, Marine, Land cover. The printed map collection is on Level 4. Special Collections also contains some printed historic maps.

Online maps: Online access to UK maps is provided through Digimap. Once registered, you can login using your campus ID.

Log in to Digimap - for access to maps and data. Digimap Resource Centre - for help guides, videos and case studies.                                                         

Map Cabinets in the Robinson Library    For more detailed information and links to many other resources see the Maps Guide

It's important to ensure that any images you use in your academic work are free of copyright restrictions .

The Image Guide contains information and links to many copyright free image databanks. Listed below are those most relevant to Biology.

Collections Captured: Newcastle University Library’s Special Collections are rich and varied: they comprise rare books and other printed works and unique archives, dating from the 14th century to the present.

We're adding images to our CollectionsCaptured database regularly, ensuring that this resource expands to cover as many of our collection highlights as possible.

Lexis indexes current UK newspapers and Nexis indexes International newspapers. See our separate News Subject Guide for a comprehensive listing of all our news resources.

Loading

Market research and company information

Mintel Oxygen provides consumer market research reports covering different topics or sectors of the UK market and is a key resource. Find out more on the Mintel page

 

Passport, from Euromonitor International, offers statistics, analysis and reports on global markets and consumers. Find out more on the Passport page

 

 

IGD provides some freely available material covering the retail and supply chain industries. Note some material is only available by subscription (Newcastle does not subscribe to this)

Company information: Use the links below to access key databases for company information. For more detailed help finding company data, see the Company Information Guide

  Fame covers UK and Irish companies providing company accounts, ratios, activities, ownership and management.

 Amadeus covers standardised annual accounts, financial ratios, activities and ownership for over 7 million companies throughout Europe, including Germany, France, Italy, Ukraine and Russian Federation.

  Oriana covers accounts, ratios, activities, ownership and management for around 80,000  very large companies  across the Asia-Pacific region, including China, Singapore, Hong Kong and India.
Business Source Premier from EBSCO includes a section with Company Profiles. International company profiles are provided by MarketLine.

Loading