Skip to main content
 

Countryside Management and Rural Studies:: CM & RS Archives & Special Collections

Library resources for students and staff

What are Special Collections?

Special Collections are unique and rare resources held by Newcastle University's Robinson's Library.  We hold both archives and rare books.

Due to their rarity and their sometimes fragile condition, these items are not on the normal library shelves, but they are available to everyone in the Special Collections reading room.

What Collections are Available in the Robinson Library?

This guide will point you in the direction of some collections which are particularly relevant to your subject area.

For a wider look at more of our collections, and to see tips on ordering and using archives and rare books, there is also a Special Collections LibGuide ...

Maps

Over 150 maps. In the main, they are pre-twentieth century and cover areas in north-eastern England.

Type of Material: Archives

Subject Areas:  General Interest

More on Maps...

Daysh (Henry) Archive

Administrative material generated by the North East Industrial and Development Association, including correspondence, cuttings, reports and papers.

Type of Material: Archives

Subject Areas:  Agriculture  Geography  History  Local History  Mechanical Engineering

More on Daysh (Henry) Archive...

Gilchrist (Douglas) Collection

Early published works on agriculture, rich in eighteenth and nineteenth century reports on farming in many parts of Great Britain. The collection had as its nucleus the historical library of the late Professor D. A. Gilchrist (d. 1927), who held the Chair of Agriculture at Armstrong College from 1902 to 1927.

Type of Material: Rare Books / Published Material

Subject Areas:  Agriculture   Chemistry

More on Gilchrist (Douglas) Collection...

Rare Books Outside of the 'Rare Book Collections'

Not all of our rare books are in 'collections' with particular relevance to your subject area, we also have hundreds of rare and unique books which were acquired by the library individually, across a range of subjects, which might also be valuable to your research.

Just a few to get you started ...

We have plenty more ...

All of our rare books are in Library Search, so start your search by entering your topic area, author, or title into library search in the normal way.

To view items within the Special Collections department, you can then refine your search by clicking on the Special Collections Location.