Skip to main content
 

Mathematics and Statistics: Finding other Maths resources

Library and information resources for staff and students in the School of Mathematics & Statistics at Newcastle University

Conferences, theses, official documents and websites

Conference papers are useful for finding very up to date information. New research might be presented at a conference before it is published in a traditional journal. In Engineering, for example, conference papers are a common dissemination method.

Our Conferences guide contains more information.

 

Newcastle University exam papers are available online at: http://www.ncl.ac.uk/exam.papers/

You will need to enter your Campus log-in details in order to access this database.

Loading

Maps, images and media

The Philip Robinson Library provides access to a range of online and print maps including:

  • Ordnance Survey
  • Geological Survey
  • Historic
  • Marine
  • Land cover

The printed map collection is on Level 4. Special Collections also contains some printed historic maps.

Online access to maps is provided through Digimap. Once registered, you can login using your campus ID.

Log in to Digimap - for access to maps and data.

Digimap Resource Centre - for help guides, videos and case studies.

 For more detailed information and links to many other resources see our Maps Guide

We have a Newspapers and other media Library Guide which contains a  comprehensive set of links, covering contemporary, historic and foreign media resources.

It's important to ensure that any images you use in your academic work are free of copyright restrictions .

The Image Guide contains information and links to many copyright free image databanks

Collections Captured: Newcastle University Library’s Special Collections are rich and varied: they comprise rare books and other printed works and unique archives, dating from the 14th century to the present.

We're adding images to our CollectionsCaptured database regularly, ensuring that this resource expands to cover as many of our collection highlights as possible.

We have a Mobile apps and resources guide which contains mobile apps and sites to help your study and research.

Loading

Market research and company information

Mintel Oxygen provides consumer market research reports covering different topics or sectors of the UK market and is a key resource. Find out more on the Mintel page

 

Passport, from Euromonitor International, offers statistics, analysis and reports on global markets and consumers. Find out more on the Passport page

 

 

IGD provides some freely available material covering the retail and supply chain industries. Note some material is only available by subscription (Newcastle does not subscribe to this)

Company information: Use the links below to access key databases for company information. For more detailed help finding company data, see the Company Information Guide

  Fame covers UK and Irish companies providing company accounts, ratios, activities, ownership and management.

 Amadeus covers standardised annual accounts, financial ratios, activities and ownership for over 7 million companies throughout Europe, including Germany, France, Italy, Ukraine and Russian Federation.

  Oriana covers accounts, ratios, activities, ownership and management for around 80,000  very large companies  across the Asia-Pacific region, including China, Singapore, Hong Kong and India.


Business Source Complete from EBSCO includes a section with Company Profiles. International company profiles are provided by MarketLine.

Loading