Books and Documents
A selection of titles from the Historical Computing Collection.
Human error : causes and control by Call Number: Historical Computing Collection Store Mon 110295ISBN: 084938213Publication Date: 2006
Computer confluence : tomorrow's technology and you by Call Number: Historical Computing Collection Store Mon 112110ISBN: 9780131968769Publication Date: 2006
When Computers Were Human by Call Number: Historical Computing Collection Store Mon 110490ISBN: 9780691133829Publication Date: 2007
Electronic brains : stories from the dawn of the computer age by Call Number: Historical Computing Collection Store Mon 110546ISBN: 1862076634Publication Date: 2005
Computing Systems Reliability by Call Number: Historical Computing Collection Store Mon 110458ISBN: 0521227674Publication Date: 1979The Origins of Digital Computers by
Call Number: Historical Computing Collection Store Mon 110494ISBN: 0387113193Publication Date: 1982
The archive relates to Professor Randell's professional and academic associations throughout his career.
An archival catalogue is available via the Archives Hub. An additional index to the correspondence on the history of computing is available via online listing.
Directors' Reports 1957-1988 (login required).
International Seminars on the Teaching of Computing Science (login required)
Information and recordings from the seminar are available on the website, login is required.
Events
To celebrate Alan Turing Year, the School hosted a seminar on 14th November 2012. The seminar considered Turing's wider contributions to computing including the relationship of his work to that of other figures in the history of computing, to establishing the correctness of programs, and to the development of an early computer, Pilot Ace, and to its place in the development of the computing industry.
Information and recordings from the seminar can be found here (login required).
Booklet produced for the official opening of Claremont Tower, 18th April 1968
Call Number: University Archives 16/7/1
Publication Date: 1968