Skip to main content
 

Chemistry: Books & Journals

Key Library resources for Chemists

Books

 
 
 
 
Find books, journals and other resources, whether print or electronic, using  Library Search
 

For each book, Library Search will tell you:

  • where the book is - library location and shelfmark
  • for how long the book can be borrowed
  • the status- whether a book is on the shelf or out on loan  and when it is due back

You can also use Library Search to look for a specific journal title, or, if you change the search option to 'Everything', for individual journal articles on a topic too.

... we’ve done the some of the hard work for you, to search for EBooks from SpringerLink just for “CHEMISTRY” click here.

Loading

SciFinder

  SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the Chemical Abstracts Service databases, searching by chemical structure and formula as well as by topic. As well as finding references to journal articles it provides chemical and physical property data.

To use Scifinder you must first Register

Learn more about SciFinder at CAS Learning Solutions Here you'll find interactive online tutorials and detailed "How to" Guides.

You can also sign up for SciFinder e-seminars

You can also use SciFinder on your mobile device

Need-to-Know videos cover practical, real-world applications of SciFinder features and capabilities. Averaging only three minutes, these videos will quickly give you the information you need to use SciFinder effectively and advance your research. Topics include:

Structure Searching 

Reaction Searching

Reference Searching

General Topics

Key Databases and EJ collections for Chemistry

Try Google Scholar for finding scholarly literature on the internet. Google Scholar is particularly good at finding Open Access (freely accessible) scholarly information but a great deal of important literature is still only available through the databases and electronic journals to which the Library subscribes. You should, therefore, use Google Scholar in addition to (and not instead of) our databases and electronic journals.

Many companies provide videos to help you make best use of their database:

Loading

Browzine

Reaxys

 

Reaxys is a database of experimentally validated data for chemists including structures, reactions and physical properties. Search, analysis and workflow tools are designed around the needs and common tasks of users, including:

  • Synthesis planner: plans and proposes optimum synthesis route
  • Multi-step reactions 
  • Ability to generate structure query from names or phrases
  • Search result filters by key properties, synthesis yield or other ranking criteria
  • Results visualisation
  • Similarity search
  • Transformation analysis

Keeping up to date

Once you've carried our your initial searches, you'll need to develop techniques for keeping up to date with new publications and research in your subject area.

Click on the tabs to discover some great techniques for making our online resources do the work for you and deliver customised updates to your desktop.

Most of our databases offer search alert options. These enable you to store searches and set them up to be run again at regular intervals. Any new records which match your search will be delivered to you, usually by email or newsfeed. Options and instructions vary from database to database, and in some cases you might have to set up a separate profile, but it is well worth the effort.

Some of the major databases which enable alerts include:

  • EBSCO databases: with results displayed, click on Share, and look for Create an alert.
  • JSTOR: click on MyJSTOR. You'll need to set up a profile.
  • Library Search: log in, then click Save query in bottom left of results screen.
  • Proquest databases: with results displayed, click on Create alert.
  • Scopus: click on Alerts. You'll need to set up a profile.
  • Web of Knowledge: click on My Tools > Saved Searches and Alerts. You'll need to set up a profile.

Many journals enable you to set up alerts too, so you'll automatically receive the table of contents when a new issue is published. Just find the journal home page and look for an alert or table of contents option. Or try ZETOC, which enables you to set up alerts for thousands of journals and conference papers, or JournalTOCS.

RSS (Really Simple Syndication) helps you keep up to date with changes to your favourite online resources, whether it's a journal, blog, podcast or web page. You can subscribe to feeds whenever you see the orange RSS symbol. It means you don't have to keep checking back to see if sites have been updated, as you can view all your favourite feeds in one glance.

You can subscribe and manage your feeds in various ways, such as via Outlook, your browser, or a dedicated site such as Feedly. Other newsfeed management resources are described here and here.

Want to know more? The BBC has a simple guide, or watch the short video below.

Most researchers are used to looking through bibliographies of books and articles to see which references the author(s) has consulted for their research. However, that takes you backwards in time. Did you know you can also bring your search forwards in time with citation searching? In other words, finding out which papers or books have cited the work of interest to you since it was published.

You can do this in various ways:

  • Google Scholar: click on the Cited by link in the bottom left of any book or article reference of interest.
  • Proquest databases: click on the Cited by link under any reference of interest.
  • Scopus: with your results displayed, click on the number in the Cited by column on the far right to see more recent articles which have cited each paper.
  • Web of Knowledge: click on the number next to Times Cited on any reference of interest.

You can also set up citation alerts to find out when new papers cite an article of interest to you.

Science, technology and medical subjects use citations much more extensively than arts subjects, particularly in measuring the impact of publications. For more detail, please see our separate research impact guide

Traditional scholarly communication can be very slow moving, so researchers are increasingly using social media resources to discover and disseminate their research.

Tools such as Twitter and blogs offer fast, flexible and free ways of finding out about the latest research, and making connections with other researchers. We've highlighted the most useful social media tools for researchers on our separate guide.

Loading