Skip to main content
 

Conferences: Conferences

Conference Papers

Conference papers are useful for finding very up to date information. New research might be presented at a conference before it is published in a traditional journal. In Engineering, for example, conference papers are a common dissemination method.

Conference Proceedings can be expensive, so the Library may not hold all the conference papers you need. You can use Inter Library Loans to request individual papers or whole proceedings.

Finding conference proceedings in the Library

Search for conference proceedings in LibrarySearch by topic. Click on Advanced Search, type "conference" into the first box and a subject into the second box.

When searching for a specific conference, try entering key title words and/or acronyms rather than the full title

 

Finding conferences to attend

Attending conferences in your subject field is a great way to build up contacts and start to network with other researchers. They are also useful to find out about new developments.Once you've started your research, presenting at conferences is a valuable way to publicly discuss and obtain feedback on your research.

AllConferences indexes upcoming conferences in all subjects

Conference Alerts indexes academic conferences

conference-service.com lists scientific conferences

 
WikiCFP  has calls for papers collated on a wiki
 
 

Finding published conference papers

Subject specific resources

Most subject specific databases index conferences; look for the option to limit your search by document type to conference papers. Some examples which include a lot of conference papers include:

ASME Digital Collection contains all the ASME Conference papers

IEEEXplore   Indexes all conferences from the IEE and IEEE

Compendex   A good source for all Engineering conferences

Web of Knowledge   Includes the Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present)

 Zetoc  from the British Library indexes over 100,000 conference papers from 1993 onwards. The BL catalogue lists all the conferences held by the British Library.

Google  Search by keyword and add the word 'conference' and the year to your search eg 'biology conference 2011'

Conference Papers Index
Available via the Proquest service, CPI provides an index to papers given at conferences from around the world. CPI dates from 1982 and covers engineering, physical, life and environmental sciences.

Learned & Professional Society conferences

If your discipline is overseen by a learned society or a professional body (eg Law Society, BMA, RIBA) you will find links from their individual websites to conferences within the discipline.