A selection of resources about Alan Turing can be found in the Philip Robinson Library.
Journal articles
Finding information
Alan Turing's research covered a wide range of disciplines and you will find further information in many of our online resources, such as:
- ACM Digital LibraryIncludes a wide range of conference proceedings in computer sciences
- Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowCompendex® in Engineering Village is an interdisciplinary engineering database with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields. Numeric data is indexed so results can be filtered within specific data parameters.
- IEEExplore This link opens in a new windowDelivers full text access to high quality technical literature (journal articles, conference papers and standards) from the IEEE and IET.
- MathSciNet (AMS) This link opens in a new windowMathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature of the past 61 years. It provides Web access to reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Review and Current Mathematical Publications. It provides links to original articles and free access to Featured Reviews.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a large, multidisciplinary database, which indexes peer reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and trade publications. It provides cited reference searching, so you can navigate forward and backward through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research and set up citation alerts. Other useful tools include citation overviews, author and affiliation searching, visual analysis of search results and a journal analyser and author identifier tools (if you are interested in publishing work).
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database, which indexes scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters and conference proceedings. It provides cited reference searching, so you can navigate forward and backward through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research. Use citation reports to see citation activity and geographical trends and the ‘analyse results’ tool to identify trends and publication patterns.
Contemporary newspaper coverage
- Darwin, C. G. (1946) 'The "Electronic Brain"', The Times, 13th November, p.7. Times Digital Archive [Online].
- Hartree, D. R. (1946) 'The "Electronic Brain": a Misleading Term', The Times, 7th November, p.5. Times Digital Archive [Online].
- The Manchester Guardian (1946) 'A New Electronic "Brain": Britain Goes One Better', 7th November, p.8. ProQuest Historical Newspapers [Online].
- The Manchester Guardian (1950) 'A New Electronic Calculator: Month's Work in a Minute', 30th November, p.3. ProQuest Historical Newspapers [Online].
- The Times (1946) 'An Automatic Computing Engine', 8th November, p.2. Times Digital Archive [Online].
- The Times (1949) 'Scientific Aids to Industry', 27th May, p.2. Times Digital Archive [Online].
- The Times (1950) 'Month's Work in a Minute', 30th November, p.3. Times Digital Archive [Online].
Explore our newspaper archives to find these and many other contemporary newspaper articles and letters of interest.
BBC centenary year news coverage
For an insight into Alan Turing's life and works, along with highlights of BBC programmes shown during Turing's centenary year see:
For further information about code breaking during World War II see:
Latest newspaper coverage
The Guardian features articles, commentaries and blog posts on Turing's life, works and legacy.