Skip to main content
 

Distance Learners: Based outside the UK

University Library Services for distance learners

EBooks

As a Newcastle University Distance Learner you have access to over 600,000 eBooks.

Use Library Search to find books. Your results will include both print and ebooks. Use the refine options on the left to choose EBooks under Resource Type. To search or browse specific eBook collections go to the eBooks web pages

EBooks - Points to noteSometimes you may find a book in our catalogue which we don't own and we will pay a loan fee to the publisher so you can read it, you just need to follow the links and fill in the form. We will never ask you to pay to read our eBooks.

Some eBook collections will work directly in your browser, just requiring you to login with your Newcastle ID. Others are restricted by IP address; for these collections you need to access the campus network via RAS (see box below)

Although you can't access our print resources from overseas, if you come to Newcastle during your course, you will also be able to borrow books from our print collections.

Print materials in Newcastle stock

The Desktop Delivery Service allows you to request copies of journal articles and book chapters which are held within our print collections.

You will need to use Library Search to identify if we hold the book or journal title in stock. If we only have print access to the journal or book, you will be able to request a scan. Note: If we only have a print version of the book, you can request a maximum of 5% or 1 chapter (subject to copyright law).

Your request will be satisfied within 24 hours (Monday - Friday) excluding Bank Holidays. Once the item has been scanned you will receive an email containing download details
Request limits: up to 30 items (books and photocopies) IN TOTAL per academic year. There maybe copyright restrictions in place where occasionally we are unable to supply the item.

Connecting to the Newcastle network using RAS

RAS

 

RAS (Remote Application Service) provides a method of using University IT facilities – software, printers, internal web pages, and your own documents – 24/7 from any Internet connection, in particular from your own computer.

Log in at ras.ncl.ac.uk

The system is easy to use, works on all main operating systems and is accessed via your Web browser. We provide the vast majority of ISS Cluster applications through RAS.

When you print a document from RAS, if the default printer connected to your computer is compatible with the system then it should be listed as the first choice.

Since RAS is running applications on the University’s servers, depending on your Internet connection speed and stability the applications on RAS may run more slowly than any applications that you have on your computer.

EJournals and Databases

As a Newcastle University Distance Learner you have access to over 17,000 EJournals. Use Library Search set to "Everything" to find books and journal articles. Your results will include both print and electronic resources. Use the refine options on the left to limit to Full Text Online. To search or browse specific ejournal collections go to the eJournals web pages

EJournals - Points to note:

Some eJournal collections will work directly in your browser, just requiring you to login with your Newcastle ID. Others are restricted by IP address; for these collections you need to access the campus network via RAS (see box below)

Databases

For a comprehensive overview of the literature on your topic, you can search a database. You'll find databases recommended for your subject on your subject Library Guide

Databases - Points to note:

Some results of your database search may only be available in printed form at Newcastle, or we may not own them at all. If material is available here in print, you may be able to request a scan - see the box on the left. NB. We cannot offer an Inter Library loan service outside the UK for material we do not own

Local alternatives

If you can't find what you need in our extensive eBook and eJournal collections there may be libraries near where you live which can help. We are unable to offer our InterLibrary Loans service to students based outside the UK because of licencing restrictions.

Public libraries in large cities often have good academic collections. If you live near your National Library you may be able to consult resources there too

Connecting to Newcastle from other universities

 

EduRoam is the wireless roaming service used by the international research and education community.

It is available across campus to visiting students, researchers, academics and staff from participating institutions to obtain Internet connectivity across campus and when visiting other participating institutions by simply opening their laptop or smartphone.

The service uses the SSID eduroam with Wireless Protected Access (WPA) and Enterprise level encryption (EAP).

To set this up please see additional webpages:

Newcastle University ISS Eduroam

Eduroam