Skip to main content
 

Education, Communication & Language Sciences: Education/Educational Psychology

Library guide for resources in ECLS subjects

New resources for 2017/18

Great news! We've invested in a brilliant range of online resources for the new academic year. Following resource trials and consultation with students and staff, we've added digitised archives, ebooks, and journals.

Whatever your subject area, you're sure to find something useful. Just explore the tabs on this box for full details!

We've bought eleven new ebook collections from Bloomsbury, comprising over 400 academic titles across a wide range of subjects. We've bought the following collections:

Education 2016 and 2017

Family and Social Law

Film and Media Studies 2016

Labour and Discrimination Law

Legal Philosophy

Medical Law and Ethics

Linguistics 2016 and 2017

Philosophy 2016 and 2017

All the books are individually catalogued on Library Search, or you can browse the titles in each collection. You can browse the legal collections here.

Loading

Find Education resources

The term grey literature refers to research that is either unpublished or has been published in non-commercial form.

Examples of grey literature include: policy statements and issues papersconference proceedingspre-prints and post-prints of articles; theses and dissertationsresearch reportsnewsletters and bulletins and fact sheets.

Grey literature can be found by doing an Internet search focusing your search terms, for example ending your search with site:.gov.uk to look for government reports.  You will also find grey literature by searching some of our news databases.

Most databases allow you to limit your search by document type so you can look for grey literature as part of your research. 

Other recommended resources include:

Loading

ECLS library newsletter autumn 2017

Find Psychology and Behaviour resources

Loading

Education Outreach

Newcastle University Library has two Education Officers, Sara Bird and Gillian Johnston, who work with colleagues to create links with local schools and colleges. We welcome visits from school parties offering handling sessions, source evaluation, A-Level study sessions, cholera investigation and games. Where possible we try to tailor each visit to the individual needs of the group.

Explore our range of workshops and Education Outreach - Archives Alive resources, including Study Skills for 6th Form.

 
The Teachers' Toolkit tells you about all the fantastic education outreach resources and contacts available across Newcastle University.

Access to resources elsewhere

How can you search other catalogues? How can you find out what archives and special collections are held elsewhere, from York to New York and all points in between? Click on the tabs for guidance to help you track down what you require: locally, nationally and internationally. 

You might also find it helpful to use our two services below: 

Loading

Selection of new books in the library

Click the tabs to browse a selection of our new books. To view all our new books in your subject area, just carry out your search as usual, and then limit by most recent records (look for the 'new records' option on the left hand side of your results page:)

Loading

Systematic reviews

A systematic review of the literature on the topic requires an organised, consistent and recorded methodology across multiple databases. You should be able to say what you've searched, how and why. The Library provides a Guide to Systematic Reviews for more information and we recommend the following resources.

Loading

Academic Practice Collection

 

Did you know we've got a separate collection of books focusing on academic practice? You can find it on level 3. Alternatively, if you choose Advanced Search on Library Search, choose in shelfmark from the dropdown Any box, and type 378.17, you'll find all our books relating to academic practice.

Discover other useful resources for developing your teaching practice in the Higher Education context on our Academic Practice subject guide.

Keep up to date with social media

As well as 'traditional' academic resources, social media is, increasingly, an excellent way of keeping up to date with your subject area. You really can't afford to ignore it! Not convinced? Check out our selection of social media links for your subject.

If you've got any recommendations you think we should add, just let us know. 

Other guides which might interest you....

Loading