Skip to main content
 

History, Classics and Archaeology: History

Useful news and help with information resources within and beyond the Library for anyone studying in the School of History, Classics and Archaeology at Newcastle University.

New resources for 2017/18

Great news! We've invested in a brilliant range of online resources for the new academic year. Following resource trials and consultation with students and staff, we've added digitised archives, ebooks, and journals.

Whatever your subject area, you're sure to find something useful. Just explore the tabs on this box for full details!

We've bought eleven new ebook collections from Bloomsbury, comprising over 400 academic titles across a wide range of subjects. We've bought the following collections:

Education 2016 and 2017

Family and Social Law

Film and Media Studies 2016

Labour and Discrimination Law

Legal Philosophy

Medical Law and Ethics

Linguistics 2016 and 2017

Philosophy 2016 and 2017

All the books are individually catalogued on Library Search, or you can browse the titles in each collection. You can browse the legal collections here.

Loading

Find articles online: all history themes

The Big Four

British and Irish history

Asquith & Wife at Armstrong Works, Lord Mayor of Newcastle on right  (LOC)

Loading

Selection of new books in the library

Click the tabs to browse a selection of our new books. To view all our new books in your subject area, just carry out your search as usual, and then limit by most recent records (look for the 'new records' option on the left hand side of your results page:)

Loading

Keep up to date with social media

As well as 'traditional' academic resources, social media is, increasingly, an excellent way of keeping up to date with your subject area. You really can't afford to ignore it! Not convinced? Check out our selection of social media links for History or Archaeology/Classics.

If you've got any recommendations you think we should add, just let us know. 

Historic book collections

Audiovisual resources for history

History of the Americas

President Nixon welcomes the Apollo 11 astronauts aboard the U.S.S. Hornet

Loading

Asian history

The Great Wall of China

Loading

Other key topics

Watch this space, more coming soon!!

Loading

New resources on trial!

We've got the following new e-resources on trial. Please take a look and send us your feedback, thanks!

African American Communities

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina, this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community, through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories. It reveals the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.

Medical Services and Warfare

Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.

Race Relations in America

Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its Annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association, to investigate problem areas in race relations, and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.

The trials end November 29th 2017. Please explore and send us your feedback!

Spanish and Latin American history

Guernica Poster

Loading

German history

Berlin 1937

Loading

French and Francophone history

Crowds of French patriots line the Champs Elysees to view Allied tanks and half tracks pass through the Arc du Triomphe, after Paris was liberated on August 25, 1944  (LOC)

Loading

Access to resources elsewhere

How can you search other catalogues? How can you find out what archives and special collections are held elsewhere, from York to New York and all points in between? Click on the tabs for guidance to help you track down what you require: locally, nationally and internationally. 

You might also find it helpful to use our two services below: 

Loading