Skip to main content
 

Law: Archives and Special Collections

Library and information resources for staff and students in Newcastle Law School

What are Special Collections?

Special Collections are unique and rare resources held by Newcastle University's Robinson's Library.  We hold both archives and rare books.

Due to their rarity and their sometimes fragile condition, these items are not on the normal library shelves, but they are available to everyone in the Special Collections reading room.

What Collections are Available in the Robinson Library?

This guide will point you in the direction of some collections which are particularly relevant to your subject area.

For a wider look at more of our collections, and to see tips on ordering and using archives and rare books, there is also a Special Collections LibGuide ...

Rare Books Outside of the 'Rare Book Collections'

Not all of our rare books are in 'collections' with particular relevance to your subject area, we also have hundreds of rare and unique books which were acquired by the library individually, across a range of subjects, which might also be valuable to your research.

Just a few to get you started ...

We have plenty more ...

All of our rare books are on the library catalogue, so start your search by entering your topic area, author, or title into library search in the normal way.

To view items within the Special Collections department, you can then refine your search by clicking on the Special Collections Location.

Sandes Library

The Sandes Library is the library of Kendal Grammar School and is made up of books which were originally given to the Blue Coat School and Hospital in Kendal by their founder Thomas Sandes (1606-1681), a local cloth merchant and former mayor of Kendal. The collection consists of 350 volumes, ranging in date from the Fifteenth to the Nineteenth Century, and includes some notable examples of early printing and binding.

Type of Material: Rare Books

Subject Areas:  Classics and Ancient History  Law  Philosophy  Printing

More on Sandes Library...

Cowen (Joseph) Tracts

Almost two thousand pamphlets which were formerly owned by local (radical) M.P., Joseph Cowen (1829-1900). The tracts date mostly from the mid- to late-Nineteenth Century and reflect Cowen's interest in the social, educational, political and economic issues of the day.

Type of Material: Rare Books / Published Material

Subject Areas:  History  Political History  Politics

More on Cowen (Joseph) Tracts...

Bosanquet Papers

The Bosanquet (Bernard and Helen) Archive consists of archive material relating to Bernard Bosanquet, the idealist philosopher (1848-1923), and to his wife, Helen Bosanquet, née Dendy (1860-1926), a member of the 1909 Poor Law Commission.  Material relating to Bernard Bosanquet comprises correspondence, research notes, drafts and manuscripts of publications, as well as offprints from journals and other publications by Bosanquet himself.  Material relating to Helen Bosanquet includes notes and correspondence for her memoir of Bernard Bosanquet, offprints from publications, correspondence relating to Helen Bosanquet's family and relating to public work, journals of travel, drawings, literary notebooks, photographs, engagement diaries.

Type of Material: Archives

Subject Areas:  History  Political History  Politics

More on Bosanquet (Bernard and Helen) Archive...