LibGuides: Newspapers: Current News

The best way to access UK national and regional news is online through the Nexis database (see details below). For international news, we advise you start with the Nexis database (see details below). Please note that these online databases will simply provide you with the text of an article, and not accompanying images. For TV or audio news, we suggest you start with Box of Broadcasts and then investigate the other links below.

Current News

News sources

Irish Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Digitised archive of Irish regional and national newspaper titles from the 17th century to date. New content is added daily.
Read our blog post for more information about this archive.
Nexis® Uni - UK, international and business news This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni enables you to search across local and major UK and international newspapers, business and industry trade magazines, business news, company information, press agencies and magazines from 1990s to present day, in various languages.
For more information about Nexis Uni, read our blog post.

TV/audio news and documentaries

BBC Archive
Themed collections from the BBC archives, including TV and radio clips as well as background information.

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Box of Broadcasts provides access to over 2.2 million TV and radio broadcasts from over 75 channels, including most of the UK’s freeview network, all BBC TV and radio content from 2007, and several foreign language channels. This resource is not available outside the UK.
Read our blog post for useful tips about using this resource.

BUFVC Gateway
Over 2,000 websites relating to moving image and sound materials, arranged by subject area.
ITN Source
The ITN collection is an archive of television news footage from ITV and Channel 4 News, dating back to 1955. It includes a wealth of previously unseen material.
IPTV
IPTV is managed by Newcastle University Language Resource Centre, and is available across campus. It provides access to live satellite TV channels from several countries, as well as news channels, feature films and documentaries in many languages, including English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Chinese.
News on Screen
Contains 170,000 records of British newsreel and cinemagazine production and a large collection of digitised documents, including production documents, oral histories and details of people, series and stories linked to newsreels.

Subject support guide

Newspapers