Skip to main content
 

Northern Bridge Library Guide: Home

Information on the skills and knowledge on offer from library staff across all Northern Bridge institutions.

Northern Bridge: Your Libraries

                                                                                                                              

 

 

As a Northern Bridge student, you have access to the resources, partnerships, and expertise provided by Durham University, Newcastle University, and Queen's University Belfast Libraries. This guide aims to provide an overview of these unique and shared offerings, enabling you to make informed decisions to support your doctoral studies.

About Durham University Library

Durham University Library and Heritage Collections provide an excellent range of collections, resources, and flexible study spaces across five library locations and online. The University Library is always busy; around 1 million borrowing and returns transactions and about 2.589 million e-journal downloads were made during the last academic year. Staff are on hand to help customers make the most of the collections, resources, and facilities.

The University Library has a wide and increasing range of online collections, including over 18,000 e-journals,more than 313,000 e-books, and many other major databases. Print collections amount to over 1.637 million items. All subjects taught in the University are represented, but particular strengths include collections relating to Middle Eastern Studies, notably the Middle East Documentation Unit, as well as the European Documentation Centre, and the very considerable Special Collections, whose contents include 300 incunabula and over 100 medieval manuscripts. 

Visit the website...

Finding Durham University Libraries

About Newcastle University Library

Newcastle University Library operates over 3 centrally located sites. We offer extensive electronic and print resources, 24/7 term time opening hours in over 1,850 different study spaces for both group discussion and private research, and varied study support from knowledgeable, friendly staff. The most recent National Student Survey gave the library a satisfaction rating of 94%, the 4th highest in the UK, and we’ve held the Customer Service Excellence Award since 2010.

We provide access to 1.2 million print books, over 6 million e-books, over 26,000 journals (mostly online), and over 300 specialist online resources, available on or off campus. Our Special Collections are rich and varied, comprising rare books and other printed works and unique archives that have continued cultural and historical significance. These date from the 14th century, but chiefly relate to the 19th and 20th centuries reflecting local, national, and international significance and research potential.

Visit the website...

Finding Newcastle University Libraries

About Queen's University Belfast Library

The McClay Library at Queen’s blends the best features of a traditional library with the latest technology to create a truly 21st century environment for students. It opened in 2009 offering a wide range of integrated library and ICT support services in a landmark new building which was awarded the SCONUL Library Design Award in 2013. With over 2,000 reader seats in a mixture of formal and informal spaces, the Library offers places for quiet study and significant provision for group work. The McClay Library offers very extensive opening hours and received almost 1.4 million visits during the 2013-14 academic year.

As well as extensive collections covering the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and engineering, the Library houses the University’s Special Collections of rare and manuscript materials as well as British and Irish government publications.

The Library provides access to a wide range of books and journals in support of each subject area. Print holdings extend to over 800,000 volumes, we provide access to approximately 61,000 e-books, not including ECCO and EEBO (with 180,000 and 125,000 titles respectively). Queen’s subscribes to almost 19,000 journal titles, most of which are electronic. Subject Librarians provide extensive training and support to new students.

Visit the website...

Finding Queen' University Belfast Libraries