Skip to main content
 

English Literature, Language and Linguistics: English Language and Linguistics

Useful news and help with information resources within and beyond the Library for anyone studying in the School of English Literature, Language and Linguistics at Newcastle University.

New resources for 2017/18

Great news! We've invested in a brilliant range of online resources for the new academic year. Following resource trials and consultation with students and staff, we've added digitised archives, ebooks, and journals.

Whatever your subject area, you're sure to find something useful. Just explore the tabs on this box for full details!

We've bought eleven new ebook collections from Bloomsbury, comprising over 400 academic titles across a wide range of subjects. We've bought the following collections:

Education 2016 and 2017

Family and Social Law

Film and Media Studies 2016

Labour and Discrimination Law

Legal Philosophy

Medical Law and Ethics

Linguistics 2016 and 2017

Philosophy 2016 and 2017

All the books are individually catalogued on Library Search, or you can browse the titles in each collection. You can browse the legal collections here.

Loading

Find journal articles

Browse a selection of key journals in your subject area

BrowZine is an attractive new way of browsing the Library's journals. You can set up your own bookshelf to ensure you don't miss the latest issues of key journals in your field. 

Selection of new books in the library

Click the tabs to browse a selection of our new books. To view all our new books in your subject area, just carry out your search as usual, and then limit by most recent records (look for the 'new records' option on the left hand side of your results page:)

Loading

Keep up to date with social media

As well as 'traditional' academic resources, social media is, increasingly, an excellent way of keeping up to date with your subject area. You really can't afford to ignore it! Not convinced? Check out our selection of social media links for Literature or Language/Linguistics.

If you've got any recommendations you think we should add, just let us know. 

Other language and linguistics information resources

A systematic review of the literature on the topic requires an organised, consistent and recorded methodology across multiple databases. You should be able to say what you've searched, how and why. The Library provides a Guide to Systematic Reviews for more information and we recommend the following controlled vocabulary databases and resources.

Loading

SELLL Library newsletter autumn 2017

Access to resources elsewhere

How can you search other catalogues? How can you find out what archives and special collections are held elsewhere, from York to New York and all points in between? Click on the tabs for guidance to help you track down what you require: locally, nationally and internationally. 

You might also find it helpful to use our two services below: 

Loading

Other guides which might interest you....

Loading