Skip to main content
 

English Literature, Language and Linguistics: English Literature

Useful news and help with information resources within and beyond the Library for anyone studying in the School of English Literature, Language and Linguistics at Newcastle University.

New resources for 2017/18

Great news! We've invested in a brilliant range of online resources for the new academic year. Following resource trials and consultation with students and staff, we've added digitised archives, ebooks, and journals.

Whatever your subject area, you're sure to find something useful. Just explore the tabs on this box for full details!

We've bought eleven new ebook collections from Bloomsbury, comprising over 400 academic titles across a wide range of subjects. We've bought the following collections:

Education 2016 and 2017

Family and Social Law

Film and Media Studies 2016

Labour and Discrimination Law

Legal Philosophy

Medical Law and Ethics

Linguistics 2016 and 2017

Philosophy 2016 and 2017

All the books are individually catalogued on Library Search, or you can browse the titles in each collection. You can browse the legal collections here.

Loading

New resources on trial!

We've got the following e-resources on trial. Please take a look and send us your feedback, thanks!

Drama Online: new modules

We currently subscribe to certain sections of this resource, but we now have all the modules on trial. The trial content includes video collections such as BBC Drama Films, Shakespeare Globe on Screen, and the Hollow Crown Series, together with play texts from Aurora Metro, Nick Hern Books and Playwrights Canada. 

This trial ends on December 18th 2017.

Harper's Bazaar Archive

This includes the complete runs of the US and UK editions of Harper’s Bazaar, from 1867 to the present (US edition) and 1929-2015 (UK edition), fully indexed and searchable. This full color collection provides a powerful lens into American, British, and international fashion, society, and popular culture from the mid-19th century onwards.

This trial ends on November 16th 2017.

Please explore our trials and send us your feedback.

Find journal articles

Keep up to date with social media

As well as 'traditional' academic resources, social media is, increasingly, an excellent way of keeping up to date with your subject area. You really can't afford to ignore it! Not convinced? Check out our selection of social media links for Literature or Language/Linguistics.

If you've got any recommendations you think we should add, just let us know. 

Access to resources elsewhere

How can you search other catalogues? How can you find out what archives and special collections are held elsewhere, from York to New York and all points in between? Click on the tabs for guidance to help you track down what you require: locally, nationally and internationally. 

You might also find it helpful to use our two services below: 

Loading

Selection of new books in the library

Click the tabs to browse a selection of our new books. To view all our new books in your subject area, just carry out your search as usual, and then limit by most recent records (look for the 'new records' option on the left hand side of your results page:)

Loading

Other English Literature information resources

Loading

SELLL Library newsletter autumn 2017

Using archives in English Literature research

Take a look at this great new video of Newcastle University English Literature researchers explaining how they are using our archives in their research.

Topic focus

Old Aunt Elspa's ABC

For a full list of recommended resources on Children's Literature please see our Children's Literature Guide

Recommended Special Collections include:

Stage door image

Loading

Other guides which might interest you....

Loading