Skip to main content
 

Modern Languages: Archives and Special Collections

Useful news and help with information resources within and beyond the Library for anyone studying in the School of Modern Languages at Newcastle University.

What are Special Collections?

Special Collections are unique and rare resources held by Newcastle University's Robinson's Library.  We hold both archives and rare books.

Due to their rarity and their sometimes fragile condition, these items are not on the normal library shelves, but they are available to everyone in the Special Collections reading room.

What Collections are Available in the Robinson Library?

This guide will point you in the direction of some collections which are particularly relevant to your subject area.

For a wider look at more of our collections, and to see tips on ordering and using archives and rare books, there is also a Special Collections LibGuide ...

Rare Books Outside of the 'Rare Book Collections'

Not all of our rare books are in 'collections' with particular relevance to your subject area, we also have hundreds of rare and unique books which were acquired by the library individually, across a range of subjects, which might also be valuable to your research.

Just a few to get you started ...

We have plenty more ...

All of our rare books are on the library catalogue, so start your search by entering your topic area, author, or title into library search in the normal way.

To view items within the Special Collections department, you can then refine your search by clicking on the Special Collections Location.

Manuscript Album

A collection of letters, gathered over time with no particular subject focus.  The letters were chosen however for their historical significance, and the collection includes letters by Horatio Nelson, A.E. Houseman, Isambard Kingdom Brunel, Garibaldi, and Mary Shelly to name but a few, as well as by people of local significance like Thomas Bewick, Richard Grainger, and George Stephenson.

Type of Material: Archives

Subject Areas:  History  Modern Languages  Politics  Literature

More on Manuscript Album...

20th Century Pamphlets

This is a collection of approximately 600 pamphlets and short publications on world affairs in the Twentieth Century. Many themes are covered, including politics, economics, civil liberty, democracy and religion, and many of the countries of the world feature.

Type of Material: Rare Books / Published Material

Subject Areas: General

More on 20th Century Pamphlets...

Cookson (Catherine) Collection

Donated by North East writer Dame Catherine Cookson (1906 - 1998) herself, this collection contains most of her works. Although some are English titles, most are translations.

Type of Material: Rare Books

Subject Areas:  Literature  Creative Writing  Modern Languages

More on Cookson (Catherine) Collection...

Grey Tracts

Reflect the interests of their former owner, the 2nd Earl Grey (1764-1845) whose Whig government was responsible for the 1832 Reform Act, 1833 Factory Act and the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act. The pamphlets cover a broad range of historical, social and economic subjects including colonial policy, public finance and banking, the Corn Laws and agriculture, poor relief, slavery, Catholicism, Ireland and the Greek Revolution.

Type of Material: Rare Books / Published Material

Subject Areas:  Economics  Political History  Politics  Social History

More on Grey (2nd Earl) Tracts...