Skip to main content
 

Sustainability Resource Guide: Library resources

Information about sustainability resources, events and activities at Newcastle University: a collaborative guide from NIReS and the University Library

Getting started

We have over a million print books and the largest collection of e-books in the country, many on sustainability related topics.

There are separate Library Guides for each subject area, use these to find details of all the different resources for your studies. This Sustainability Guide highlights key sources too

Legislation and policy

Below is a sample of resources available in Newcastle University libraries. However, much of the government's legislation and policy is freely available online so you may find our Government Publications Libray Guide useful.

Sustainability E-Resources

Databases

Databases provide lists of references, with links to full text where it is available. They give you a global overview of information on a topic. Key databases for sustainability include:

          CAB Abstracts covers all aspects of land management from 1910 to the present. 

            Scopus is a general science and engineering database

        The Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management database in Proquest provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences

 EBSCOhost graphic  GreenFILE (EBSCO) offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.

 

The Environmental Management database contains full text of documents from all organisations with an interest in any aspect of the environment, including government publications.

 

Find a full list of databases on the Library Databases Page            

    Environmental science journals

    Library Search

    Library Search list all our print materials and indexes e-books, some journal articles, e-prints, e-theses and more using a single search.

    A basic mobile friendly version is also available for you to browse on your smartphone or tablet device. 


    Sustainability EBook collections

     

    CABi e-books includes the full text of many books on Sustainability.

    OECD contains many useful environmental reports     

    Springer e-books cover all subjects. You can also order a personal print copy using MyCopy.

    ... we’ve done the some of the hard work for you, to search for EBooks from SpringerLink just for “ENERGY” click here

    Sustainability Reference Books

    Use LibrarySearch to find books on sustainability. You can also search the EBook collections listed on this page. Some examples of sustainability reference books:

    Sustainability text books

    Library textbooks relating to the topics in this guide

    Use LibrarySearch to find books on sustainability.  Some examples of books relevant to the Topics in the Guide: