It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Every subject area has unique and specialist types of information, which mean that you need to look beyond Library Search. Some types of information are accessed via specialist databases, for example newspapers, while others are available online.
The AJ supports the architecture industry on a daily basis with in-depth news analysis, insight into issues that are affecting the industry, comprehensive building studies with technical details and drawings, client profiles, competition updates as well as letting you know who’s won what and why.
You are able to access the journal via Library Search which provides links to the different subscriptions for the current and archive content.
Depending on which year or volume you might need to access, the University Library has the following subscriptions :
Current access via the Construction Information Service (CIS).
Via Nexis from the 18/12/1007 to 08/12/2015
Via Art and Architecture Archive 1929-2005
In print; years 1947-2007 are held in the Research Reserve which is our off campus storage facility. You can request volumes to be brought back so you can view them in the Philip Robinson Library or ask our team to scan individual articles and send them to you electronically.
In print; years 2007 to the most recent copy are held in the Philip Robinson Library on Level 4 at shelfmark PER 720 ARC
The AJ Buildings Library is a digital database that showcases more than 1,900 exemplar projects, most from the last 20 years but including major projects back to 1900.
You can search for projects by age, cost, architect, building type, footprint, location, and a combination of these.
Each project featured in this digital database includes full project data (more than 20 items of information) and comprehensive architectural photographs and drawings (plans, elevation, section) – all provided at high resolution.
Drawings can be downloaded and printed out to their original scale. NB Vector pdfs and CAD files are not available for download and all copyrighted images are protected.
You will need to set up an account using your Newcastle email at https://www.architectsjournal.co.uk/ and then you will be able to log in https://www.ajbuildingslibrary.co.uk
Development Control Practice (DCP) provides a roadmap to a variety of factors associated with making and deciding planning applications. This can involve applications, appeals, court cases and development plans. This is useful for students, researchers, local authorities, planning consultants, lawyers and developers.
There is a range of help materials available for this resource at http://www.planningresource.co.uk/dcp-user-guides