Skip to main content

Newcastle University

University Library

Subject support guide

Your subject-specific guide to using library resources.

Library Search

Architecture, Planning and Landscape

Your subject-specific guide to library resources.

Subject specific resources page banner image

Every subject area has unique and specialist types of information, which mean that you need to look beyond Library Search. Some types of information are accessed via specialist databases, for example newspapers, while others are available online.

Useful Web Resources

Resource Guides 
 
Images library guide link
Maps Library Guide image
Standards image link
Patents resource guide

Planning Resources

The Great North Museum: Hancock Library is located on the second floor of the Museum building. It is free to use and open to everyone.  You can browse all of the Library’s holdings by using Newcastle University’s Library Search service.

The collections of the Society of Antiquaries of Newcastle Upon Tyne (SANT) and the Archive of the Natural History Society of Northumbria (NHSN) both of which are located in the GNM Library have material that would be useful for the academic needs of Architecture, Planning and Landscape students. 

The Archive of the Natural History Society of Northumbria contain a collection of items on the history and development of the Great North Museum: Hancock building:

Plan of House and Grounds, St James’, Barras Bridge, Newcastle Upon Tyne 1875 -  Copyright Natural History Society of Northumbria

This material can be viewed by making an appointment with the Archivist by sending an email to the below email address.  Click here for further information about the Great North Museum: Hancock.

Telephone:  0191 208 3555

eMail:  gnmlibrary@twmuseums.org.uk

The SANT collection contains a wide range of books on the architecture and history of buildings in the northern region. Some examples of these are historical material and images about Newcastle Castle and the Castle Keep:

From MacKenzie’s “Descriptive & Historical Account of….Newcastle Upon Tyne”, 1827

Also material about Durham Cathedral:

From Dugdale’s “Monasticon Anglicanum”,  1726

And Fountain’s Abbey:

From Reeve’s “Monograph on Fountain’s Abbey, Yorkshire”, 1892 

The SANT collection also contains series of books on specific types of historical buildings that cover the United Kingdom, for example Winkles’s three volume work on British Cathedrals published in 1836:

Everyone is welcome to use the Great North Museum: Hancock Library - no membership is necessary. Please contact the library before visiting if you are travelling.

Contact (0191) 208 3555 or email gnmlibrary@twmuseums.org.uk to speak to a member of staff.