Every subject area has unique and specialist types of information, which mean that you need to look beyond Library Search. Some types of information are accessed via specialist databases, for example newspapers, while others are available online.
Brings together material from the British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography (BIAB), the ADS library of unpublished fieldwork reports, as well as documents from the ADS archives and publishers such as Oxbow.
Enables you to search English Heritage's archives containing thousands of photographs and documents relating to England's historic buildings and archaeological sites. Some records are accompanied by online images.
This is a quick and easy way to search nearly 400,000 records held in English Heritage's national historic environment database. You'll find information on archaeological, architectural and maritime sites.
Box of Broadcasts can be used to access TV and radio broadcasts from over 65 channels, including most of the UK’s freeview network, all BBC TV and radio content from 2007, and several foreign language channels. You can view archived programmes, record new ones, create clips and playlists and see transcripts to help with citation and translation. You can also search for other user’s public playlists to help you in your own search. This resource is not available outside the UK.
This database provides access to over two million images, including paintings, posters, artefacts and photographs, from galleries and collections worldwide. All images are copyright-cleared for educational use, and cover a wide range of themes.
Contains some of the core printed primary and secondary sources of medieval and modern history of the British Isles. It includes volumes of the Victoria County History and the Journals of the House of Commons and House of Lords.
The only comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world. Contains over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE.
Based in London, but you can search the catalogue online. A major resource for those working on research in the languages, literature, history, art, archaeology and philosophy of the ancient Greek and Roman worlds.
Contains virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453. *Please note* the TLG's new interface now requires all users to create a TLG account. Click 'register' and fill in the online form.
Peter Adamson, Professor of Ancient and Medieval Philosophy at King's College London, takes listeners through the history of philosophy, "without any gaps."
Beginning with the earliest ancient thinkers, the series will look at the ideas and lives of the major philosophers (eventually covering in detail such giants as Plato, Aristotle, Avicenna, Aquinas, Descartes, and Kant) as well as the lesser-known figures of the tradition.