Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newcastle University

University Library

Subject support guide

Your subject-specific guide to using library resources.

Library Search

Business

Your subject-specific guide to library resources.

Henry Stewart Talks – Business and Management Collection

HS Talks Business and management collection banner image

HS Talks - The Business & Management Collection includes over 1,200  specially commissioned, online multi-media videos, online lectures, case studies and case study interviews by leading experts in academia, industry and commerce. Topics include marketing, management, finance, accounting, strategy and more.

The collection is categorised into 6 broad subject areas and further organised into 90 series, each overseen by an editor who is a key expert in the field. Speakers are chosen based on their expertise and each talk is produced together with the speaker especially for the collection. The collection is reviewed and updated monthly. Once you have selected a subject area or applied your keyword you might like to filter using some of the options such as length of video or date published.

Academics can also embed the videos in the VLE. You can either do the whole video or sections. Details of how to do this can be found here. 

There are different types of videos on HS Talks

  • Traditional format lectures with high quality graphics: the lectures are primarily designed to deliver ‘information’. The lectures have multiple associated features including printable slide handouts and speed-up/slow down options.
  • Extended form case studies: accounts of real world experience describing what was done, how, when and with what consequences.
  • Bite-size case studies: these short descriptions of real world commercial activities come with suggested topics for consideration and discussion. 
  • Case Study Interviews: interviews with experts from commerce and industry, from start-up entrepreneurs to large corporation executives, confront the challenges they encounter. Each interview is accompanied by suggested topics for discussion and individual and group projects.

Some of the talks come with additional Powerpoints which can be downloaded, along with transcripts of the interview. Viewers can also enable close captions. 

Orbis Cross Border Investment

Orbis database image

Orbis Crossborder Investment looks at globalization via projects and deals and delivers information on the companies behind these investments – both listed and private. It tracks information daily, and monitors announced, completed and cancelled/withdrawn projects and deals, as well as rumours and intentions.

These include:

• Greenfield FDI projects – such as a company setting up (or expanding) a physical presence in a foreign market

• Crossborder M&A deals – defined as having more than 10% foreign ownership and including acquisitions, mergers, demergers, joint ventures, minority stakes and IPOs

And covering:

• details of the investor, acquirer or target companies, including financial data, their structures and their people

• project size estimates when data isn’t available

• an indication of a company’s propensity to invest

• deal comments and rationale and linked deals/projects

• project financials, job creation, motives, incentives, sources of finance, comments, rationale, contacts, business function and links to other relevant projects/deals

Access Orbis via Library Search
Once you are logged into Orbis there is further guidance such as creating searches and using tools such as the pivot analysis and the geographic heat map at the Orbis Crossborder Investment
 Learning Zone - click on 'Help' at the top right of the screen.

Access until the 13th January 2022

Datastream

The Business School provides access for postgraduate taught and research students to Datastream. It is available on all 26 computers in the cluster on the 4th floor in the Newcastle University Business School building.

Datastream is the world's largest historical financial database, containing up to 50 years of data. Data is available on worldwide equities (companies), stock market indices, unit trusts, investment trusts, bonds & convertibles, bond indices & CDS, warrants, interest rates, futures, options and commodities.

What is Datastream?

Databases through Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

What is WRDS

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a web-based business data research service from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. They have a mixture of free and additionally subscribed databases from this one uniform platform. 

Why use WRDS?

If you need access to data which includes stock markets indices, bond prices, interest rates, stock ownership, trading volumes and information on companies and industry reports. 

Through this platform we have access to:

    Bank Regulatory
    Blockholders
    CBOE Indexes
    CUSIP
    DMEF Academic Data
    Dow Jones
    FDIC (Federal Deposit Insurance)
    Fama French and Liquidity Factors
    Federal Reserve Bank
    PHLX
    Penn World Tables
    SEC order execution
    TRACE

Through additional paid subscriptions we have access to:

COMPUSTAT (S&P Capital IQ's Compustat North America) This is a database of financial, statistical and market information on active and inactive global companies throughout the world. Provides data for historical companies which is standardised.

CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices)  The database provides information on security prices, return and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets. 

CSMAR (China Stock Market and Accounting Research Database) This database provides access to data on China stock markets and the financial statements of China's listed companies. 

200 Ivy DB US (Optionmetrics) This is a comprehensive database of historical price, implied volatility and sensitivity information for the entire US listed index and equity options markets.

 

How to register with WRDS

 All Business School staff and PGT/PGR students can register for an account via :http://wrds-web.wharton.upenn.edu/wrds/

You’ll receive an email once your account has been authorized.

Help and Support

Each platform features comprehensive online help. If you require further help or support please ask your Supervisor or Module Leader.

NB., You must be logged in, and have an account on WRDS, to access the help features.

 Useful links

View the following ELearning tutorials available once you've logged in on the WRDS website.

Review the Support and Research tabs, offering a host of resources including:

Getting Started with WRDS

Research Applications and Sample Programs

Three Ways of Working with WRDS

Using WRDS Web Queries

Thomson One Banker including WorldScope and I/B/E/S

A web-based platform providing news from Reuters, charts, market rates, deals, estimates, financials and ownership.

Subscription by the Business School covers Foundation + Deals + Worldscope/Fundamentals + I/B/E/S (includes Events) + Spreadsheet Link

Bloomberg Terminals

The Business School provides access to Bloomberg for all Students. It is available on 20 computers located in the cluster on the 4th floor in the Newcastle University Business School building with priority going to Bloomberg users.

The Bloomberg Terminal is a computer software system provided by the financial data vendor Bloomberg L.P. that enables professionals in the financial service sector and other industries to access the Bloomberg Professional service through which users can monitor and analyse real-time financial market data and place trades on the electronic trading platform. The system also provides news, price quotes, and messaging across its proprietary secure network.