Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newcastle University

University Library

Subject support guide

Your subject-specific guide to using library resources.

Library Search

Library Language - what does it mean?: H-J

A guide to terms, jargon and vocabulary you may encounter using the University Library services and resources

H-J

 

H

Handlist
A list of the contents of an archive or manuscript collection. Sometimes called a finding aid. The Library's archive and manuscript collections are held in Special Collections on Level 1 of the Robinson Library. Finding aids and handlists are available in paper form in the Special Collections Reading Room or on the Special Collections web pages.
See also: Finding Aid. Archives. Manuscripts.

Holdings
A statement of the number of copies of a book or journal owned by the Library.
 

I

ILL
Inter-Library loans. A service by which the Library will try to acquire a book or journal which you need but which we do not have. Located at the Main Counter on Level 2 of the Robinson Library.

Imprint
Information about a book's publisher, place of publication and date of publication, usually found at the bottom of the title-page.

Index
An alphabetical listing of subjects and names in a book, showing the page numbers on which a particular subject or name can be found.

International Student
A student who has come to Newcastle from another country.

ISBN
An International Standard Book Number (ISBN) is a unique number given to every published book. It has 10 or 13 digits. An ISBN is useful if you want to order a specific book from a bookseller, or find it in the Library catalogue.

ISS
Information Systems and Services. The University's central computing service which provides most of the computer services used by staff and students. ISS is responsible for the large PC Cluster on Level 2 of the Robinson Library.

ISSN
International Standard Serial Number. A unique number given to every published journal. It has 8 digits. An ISSN is useful if you want to distinguish between different journals that may have the same name.

Journal
A publication issued in separate parts over a period of time and often containing articles on primary and current research. Another word for a Journal is a Periodical.