Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newcastle University

University Library

Subject support guide

Your subject-specific guide to using library resources.

Library Search

Marine Technology

Your subject-specific guide to library resources.

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Library is accelerating its efforts to acquire access to additional eBooks and other online resources to support learning, assessment and research.

A summary of recent eBook collections and temporarily free electronic resources can be found below. Where possible resources are added to Library Search and we will share updates via our Subject Support blog and social media. We are continuing to work with publishers and will update this list with any new resources.

If you wish to recommend any further resources please use our book recommendation service or contact your Liaison Librarian

New online library resources
 

The Library have purchased over 21,000 eBooks, supplementing our existing collections, to provide additional resources to support students while they are working off campus. The Library has been prioritising enquiries from academic colleagues and students to provide electronic access to essential texts and books on reading lists where available. All student requests via Books on Time are now being processed as eBooks and this service is being well used as students continue their studies remotely.

 

Acquired eBook collections

Publisher

Content

Available in Library Search

Open Research Library

eBooks

Over 2000 open access book titles but soon to include videos and posters

Yes
Oxford University Press

eBooks

250 Oxford Handbooks Online

See our Subject Support blog for information

Keyword search Library Search
Springer

eBooks

New 2020 collections of over 3000 books for

  • Biomedical and Life Science
  • Computer Science
  • Earth and Environmental Science
  • Engineering 
  • Medicine 
  • Intelligent Technologies and Robotics 
  • Social Sciences 

Plus access until  to 31st May 2021 to nearly 2000 books from collections for

  • Chemistry and Materials Science 
  • Energy 
  • Mathematics and Statistics 
  • Professional and Applied Computing 
  • Behavioral Science and Psychology 
  • Business and Management 
  • Economics and Finance 
  • Education 
  • History 
  • Law and Criminology 
  • Literature, Media and Culture 
  • Political Science and International Studies 
  • Physics and Astronomy 
Yes
Taylor & Francis

eBooks

Access to over 1,200 books until March 2021 across humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.

See our Subject Support blog for information

Keyword search Library Search

 

Temporarily available resources
 

A number of publishers and platforms have made some resources temporarily available to current Newcastle University staff and students. The resources are being activated in Library Search, allowing you to find both open access and subscription materials in one simple search. 

The list is growing every day, so check back for updates.  Visit our Subject Support blog for more detailed information about each resource and to filter by the resources most appropriate for your subject area. Please contact your Liaison Librarian if you have any enquiries related to specific collections or platforms

New resources (temporary access)

Publisher

Content

How long?

Available in Library Search

Bloomsbury

Archive

Drama Online: access to entire collection

See our Subject Support blog for more information

tbc Yes
Ebook Central Academic Complete

eBooks

Access to more than 170,000 eBooks covering a broad range of subject disciplines

22nd July 2020 Yes
EDINA Digimap

Maps

Trial access to Digimap Pilot

 

31st July 2020
 

 

 

Yes 

LWW Health Library

eBooks

Access to textbooks in Pharmacy, Medical Education, Pathology, Oncology, Surgery and more

29th June 2020 Yes - Log in via your Institution
Pigeon Digital

Audiovisual

Access to 270 videos for Architecture and Planning.

See our Subject Support blog for more information

3rd July 2020  Yes 
Project Muse

eBooks and  online Journals

Extensive, free access to many eBooks and journals within the Project Muse collection. 

See our Subject Support blog for information

Varies depending on publisher
Yes 
University of Michigan Press

eBooks

1,300 titles free to read online.

See our Subject Support blog for more information

31st August 2020

 

Keyword search Library Search