Standards are codes of best practice containing technical specifications and guidelines. They are used to ensure uniformity and consistency, reliability and safety and provide a quality benchmark. Many standards are produced by national bodies, but some are produced internationally or by industry.
Finding and Using Standards
- British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new windowNewcastle University has access to British Standards Online which provides access to full-text current British Standards.
Many ISO and EN Standards also have a direct British Standard equivalent and are available via BSOL.
Structural Eurocodes
Eurocodes are available via British Standards Online.
Look at Section 2. The Eurocode timeline in BSI Structural Eurocodes Companion to see the Eurocode document numbers.
If a withdrawn standard is showing as 'not in your subscription', contact lib-sage@ncl.ac.uk and we'll see if we can get it for you.
If you're working from off-campus, you will be asked to log in with your campus ID and password order to get full-text access.
- ASTM Compass Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL) This link opens in a new windowA collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
- IEEE Standards This link opens in a new windowIEEE Xplore provides access to full text IEEE Standards from 1988. The platform also includes some SMPTE standards.
SMPTE is the leading standards development body for motion imaging standards which are adopted by manufacturers, broadcasters and studios.
Standards Information
We have full text access to all current BS, ASTM and IEEE standards.
Many ISO and EN (and some IEC) standards also have BS equivalents and are available online too.
To support teaching and research, we also purchase a small number of individual standards from other organisations (e.g. ASME, API, etc). These are usually available in hard-copy and you can find their shelfmarks on LibrarySearch.
If you need a particular standard for your research, dissertation, or to support your teaching, please contact the SAgE Library Liaison team for advice (lib-sage@ncl.ac.uk) or use the Books on Time service to ask us to buy it.
- CIS (Construction Information Service)CIS is produced jointly with the National Building Specification (NBS) especially for architects, civil and structural engineers, building control officers, building services engineers and other professionals in the construction industry. It provides industry information and legislation. The full-text documents cover all aspects of the building, engineering, design and construction process.
- OHSIS (Occupational Health & Safety Information Service)Comprehensive and up-to-date online access to industry and government information from key publishing organisations covering legislation, guidance, standards and best practice.
- TechStreetProvides access to an index of worldwide industry codes and standards. Not full-text.
- European Committe for StandardizationCEN, the European Committee for Standardization, is an association that brings together the National Standardization Bodies of 34 European countries.
