Every subject area has unique and specialist types of information, which mean that you need to look beyond Library Search. Some types of information are accessed via specialist databases, for example newspapers, while others are available online.
Subject Resources
Law Resources Highlight
Interested in a particular area of law and want more on the subject? Here we'll highlight some of the key specialist law resources we have in the library, or online:
-
TED Talks: Law
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of law.
-
Arbitration InternationalArbitration International provides quarterly coverage for national and international developments in the world of arbitration.
-
Kluwer ArbitrationKluwerArbitration.com is the world's leading online resource for international arbitration research. It contains a wealth of commentary from expert authors and an extensive collection of primary source materials.
-
Yearbook Commercial Arbitration 2017 - Volume XLIIThe Yearbook Commercial Arbitration continues its longstanding commitment to serving as a primary resource for the international arbitration community with reporting on arbitral awards and court decisions applying the leading arbitration conventions, as well as on arbitration legislation and rules.
The White Book brings you all the latest guidance on Civil Procedure. It is trusted for its authority, its commentary and it’s relied upon by more judges and lawyers than anything else. It contains the sources of law relating to the practice and procedures of the High Court and the County Court for the handling of civil litigation, subject to the Civil Procedure Rules (CPR). These sources are supplemented by substantial and comprehensive expert commentary.
The White Book can be accessed through Westlaw UK under the 'Books' tab.
-
ECOLEXECOLEX is an information service on environmental law, operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP.
Its purpose is to build capacity worldwide by providing the most comprehensive possible global source of information on environmental law .
-
Environmental ManagementThis database is on the IHS Markit platform along with other products within our subscription.
-
Convention on Biological DiversityThe Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) founded in 1992 at the Rio Summit, is the legally binding agreement on the use and conservation of biological diversity.
-
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913The largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 trials held at London's central criminal court.
-
The Publications of The Selden SocietyThe Selden Society is the only learned society and publisher devoted entirely to English legal history.
-
Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English LawThis resource includes the Selden Society Publications and more than 220 English Legal History Classics including abridgments, digests and dictionaries. It also provides access to early English case law and links to other online publications in early English history.
-
State Papers Online, 1509-1714Papers of the Secretaries of State from the reign of Henry VIII to the end of the reign of Queen Anne, cross-referenced with the calendars (catalogues) to aid searching.
-
State Papers Online: Eighteenth Century (1714-1782)This completes the State Papers Collection, covering the 18th century from the accession of the Hanoverian monarchs to the British throne in 1714 to the end of the State Papers series in 1782.
-
FLAG Foreign Law GuideThe FLAG database, which is freely available as a national resource for law on the web, gives you key information about collections of foreign primary law print materials in UK libraries.
-
FLARE Index to TreatiesThe Flare Index to Treaties, hosted by the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, University of London, contains details of over 1,500 of the most significant multilateral treaties concluded from 1856 to the present. It is searchable by keywords, date and place.
-
IALS Eagle-i Internet Portal for LawEagle-i (Electronic Access to Global Legal Information) is a free to use dedicated portal to high quality legal information sources on the Web - developed by the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies as a national service for law.
-
European Journal of Current Legal IssuesThe European Journal of Current Legal Issues (EJoCLI) is the oldest open access legal eJournal in Europe, first published in 1995 as the Web Journal of Current Legal Issues and retitled to reflect a more European context in 2015. It is refereed, focusing on issues which are topical and important within the field of law.
-
Law SocietyThe Law Society is the independent professional body for solicitors, driving excellence and safeguarding the rule of law.
-
UK Supreme Court BlogConceived and created in 2009 by leading solicitors and barristers specialising in litigation and the work of the UK Supreme Court.
-
Max Planck Encyclopedias of Public International LawThe Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law is a comprehensive, analytical resource containing peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of international law. This definitive reference work contains both the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law and the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law.
Resource Guides and Useful Links
