Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newcastle University

University Library

Subject support guide

Your subject-specific guide to using library resources.

Library Search

Combined Honours

Your subject-specific guide to library resources.

Subject specific resources page banner image

Every subject area has unique and specialist types of information, which mean that you need to look beyond Library Search. Some types of information are accessed via specialist databases, for example newspapers, while others are available online.
Key Databases and eJournal Collections
 

The following resources are recommended for interdisciplinary research and citation searching. They will either provide you with the full text of the journal or they will give you the bibliographic details of an article. If we have access to this item on another one of our subscriptions you will see the 'find@newcastle' option next to the item. Follow this link to find out if we have the full text available.

All databases should have a help section with tips and tricks on how to get the best out of using them, so do make yourself familiar with them. You also may find the following helpful:

New journals and databases

Google Scholar Search

Try Google Scholar for finding scholarly literature on the internet. Google Scholar is particularly good at finding Open Access (freely accessible) scholarly information but a great deal of important literature is still only available through the databases and electronic journals to which the Library subscribes. You should, therefore, use Google Scholar in addition to (and not instead of) our databases and electronic journals.

 

Library Search journals big button

Inter Library Loan big button