Skip to main content

Newcastle University

University Library

Subject support guide

Your subject-specific guide to using library resources.

Library Search

Dissertations and research projects

Although we try to provide access to the key resources you need, you might need to consult resources elsewhere, particularly when working on a dissertation or project. The good news is, there are various ways you can track down what you require: locally, national and internationally.

Beyond the library

 Search

You can search the catalogues of all UK and Irish academic libraries, national libraries and other major research libraries via Library Hub Discover. This new service replaces COPAC: read more about its features.

Looking for archives? Try Discovery, which searches over nine million archive records from the National Archives and 2,500 archives around the UK. Also visit Archives Hub, which has descriptions and features about archives held at over 330 UK institutions (particularly academic institutions). 

Need to look further afield? Search library catalogues internationally via WorldCat.  Search archives internationally via ArchiveGrid and Archives Portal Europe.

 Visit

We have more information about access to other libraries, locally and nationally, here. The SCONUL Access Scheme enables students to use other academic libraries around the country, but you need to register online first.

 Obtain

If we haven't got the book you want, you can ask us to consider buying or borrowing it, via our Books on Time service. If you need a copy of a journal article to which we don't have access, please use our inter library loan service

Recommend a Book button