Every subject area has unique and specialist types of information, which mean that you need to look beyond Library Search. Some types of information are accessed via specialist databases, for example newspapers, while others are available online.
Different Information Types
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new windowBox of Broadcasts provides access to over 2.2 million TV and radio broadcasts from over 75 channels, including most of the UK’s freeview network, all BBC TV and radio content from 2007, and several foreign language channels. This resource is not available outside the UK.
- Bridgeman Education (images) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to over three million images, including paintings, posters, artefacts and photographs, from galleries and collections worldwide. All images are copyright-cleared for educational use, and cover a wide range of themes. NB If accessing off-campus, click on User login>Login via Shibboleth>Ncl Uni once you are on Bridgeman.
- EUscreenFree online access to video, stills and audio from selected European broadcasters from 1900-present. Includes French, German and Catalan broadcasters amongst others.
- French mediaLinks to French TV, radio and newspapers online.
- Historic French newspapers onlineDigitised collections of several major French newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Institut national de l'audiovisuel (INA)Digitised collections from l'INA, the world's largest digital archive, containing 3.5 million hours of TV and radio recordings.
- Nexis® Uni - UK, international and business news This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni enables you to search across local and major UK and international newspapers, business and industry trade magazines, business news, company information, press agencies and magazines from 1990s to present day, in various languages.
- TV Monde PlusFree platform with access to Francophone films, television programmes and documentaries.
- Archives électoralesArchive of French election campaign material from 1958-2002.
- Archives nationalesFrench national archives. Includes some digitised collections.
- Bibliothèque publique d'informationSearch and explore the collections of the BPI, for information on all aspects of contemporary France.
- Catalog collectif de FranceThe French version of COPAC - huge catalogue enabling you to search the combined holdings of the Bibliothèque nationale de France, as well as French university, public and special libraries.
- Early European Books This link opens in a new windowDraws together a diverse array of printed sources from major European libraries, covering 15th to 17th century.
- EuropeanaExplore millions of images, films and other archival material from galleries, museums, archives and libraries across Europe. Search by topic and refine by copyright to find reusable materials. Can also refine to find images, films, audio etc.
- Frantext This link opens in a new windowFrench language corpus which contains the full text of approximately 5,400 French language books published mainly between the 16th and 21st centuries, covering various genres: mainly literature, but also some technical works.
- French archival sourcesPrimary sources for French history, maintained by the European University Institute.
- GallicaDigital collections of the Bibliothèque nationale de France. Contains nearly 7 million items, including books, manuscripts, images, newspapers and recordings.
IPTV is managed by the Language Resource Centre, and is available across campus. It provides access to live satellite TV channels from several countries, as well as several hundred feature films and documentaries in many languages, including English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Chinese.
Please find below some other learning resources that you will find useful in your French studies:
- Centre national de ressources textuelles et lexicalesAccess to a range of tools and resources for French language research, including dictionaries, texts and corpora.
- Frantext This link opens in a new windowFrench language corpus which contains the full text of approximately 5,400 French language books published mainly between the 16th and 21st centuries, covering various genres: mainly literature, but also some technical works.
- Le Trésor de la langue française informatiséeDictionary of 19th and 20th century French online. Includes etymological information.
- Larousse bilingual dictionariesFree access to bilingual dictionaries, covering French, German, Spanish, Italian and Chinese.
- Newcastle University language resource centreThis centre provides learning resources in over 50 languages and in many different formats. The web site includes an online catalogue and links to useful online resources.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe online version of the Oxford English Dictionary
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new windowFully searchable bilingual dictionaries. We have access to French, German, Spanish, Chinese and Italian.
Relevant Subject Guides
