This collection contains handbooks, annual reports and accounts published by the BBC between 1927 and 2002. It also includes a review of each year’s public service broadcasting, with detailed schedules, audience research, performance and objective tables, commentaries, and editorials. A great opportunity to examine the social and cultural forces that shaped Britain in the 20th century.

These diaries reveal what life was like for the average British soldier in the Battle of the Somme and later battles of Ypres. The battles of Loos, Arras, Vimy Ridge, and Bethune are also covered. The letters home will have been censored by the army: how much was removed depended on the censor. Tactical information and details of military training often remain, as the main concern was morale.

This collection charts the rise and fall of fascism in Britain during the 1930s and 1940s, with a particular focus on Oswald Mosley’s blackshirt movement. The bulk of the documents are official BUF publications, including Fascist Week¸ The Blackshirt, The East London Pioneer, and Action. In addition, there are hundreds of Government documents relating to Mosley’s internment during the Second World War, including Cabinet Office, Home Office and Prime Ministerial papers.

Electronic Enlightenment is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.

Part of the Digimap collection - contains historic OS maps from 1843-1996. Enables users to search, view and print maps, compare maps from different time periods, and download map data into a geographic information system.

Facsimile images of thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera held in the Bodleian Library, including posters, adverts and broadsides from the 18th to early 20th centuries.

This resource contains the full digitised archives of 26 LGBT publications, mainly from the UK and USA. Coverage dates from 1957 to 2015 (depending on the specific publication).

The Stationers’ Company Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions, and the history of bookbinding. Explore extremely rare documents dating from 1554 to the 21st century in this invaluable resource of research material.

This a major resource for British social history from 1937-1967. It contains material generated by the Mass Observation social research organisation, including all the day surveys, diaries and subject directives from 1937-1967, a wide range of themed topic collections, together with other material such as images and essays. We also have access to the Mass Observation 1980s and 1990s database. Read our blog post for more information about this archive.

This contains responses to the Mass Observation project in the 1980s,1990s and (NEW!) 2000s, covering political and social themes of the period, plus insights into everyday life. A fascinating insight into late twentieth century Britain. We also have access to the earlier Mass Observation Online database covering 1937-1967. Read our blog post for more information about this resource.

This collection contains archival material relating to this tumultuous period in European and world history. The documents cover the treaties of Versailles, Saint-Germain-en-Laye, Neuilly-sur-Seine, Trianon, Sèvres, Lausanne, and Locarno, as well as the foundation of the League of Nations. Most of the files are drawn from the UK National Archives, while the British Library provided the personal papers of Lord Robert Cecil and Sir Arthur Balfour.

Includes minutes of the Party Meetings, the Liaison Committee and the Parliamentary Committee (Shadow Cabinet)

The archive contains historical medical manuals, sketches, maps, books, journals & more with highlights including folk medicine, recipe books, medieval medicine, healers and domestic medicine, the early days of anatomy, and herbal medicine.

Brings together thousands of digitised resources related to slavery: including books, manuscripts, maps and records such as registers and ships' logs. Case studies and contextual essays are also provided.

Papers of the Secretaries of State from the reign of Henry VIII to the end of the reign of Queen Anne, cross-referenced with the calendars (catalogues) to aid searching.

This completes the State Papers Collection, covering the 18th century from the accession of the Hanoverian monarchs to the British throne in 1714 to the end of the State Papers series in 1782.

This supersedes the RHS bibliography, and contains over 600,000 records of historical writing about the British Isles, British Empire and the Commonwealth, covering all periods from 55BC to the present. Links to full text articles are provided where available.

Contains some of the core printed primary and secondary sources of medieval and modern history of the British Isles. It includes volumes of the Victoria County History and the Journals of the House of Commons and House of Lords.

Historical Abstracts is a complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages.

Authoritative guide to what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present.

An illustrated collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past.

The online version of the Oxford English Dictionary