Every subject area has unique and specialist types of information, which mean that you need to look beyond Library Search. Some types of information are accessed via specialist databases, for example newspapers, while others are available online.
Resource Guides
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new windowBox of Broadcasts provides access to over 2.2 million TV and radio broadcasts from over 75 channels, including most of the UK’s freeview network, all BBC TV and radio content from 2007, and several foreign language channels. This resource is not available outside the UK.
- Cinecitta Luce historical archiveSearch thousands of films, documents and photographs.
- EUscreenFree online access to video, stills and audio from selected European broadcasters from 1900-present. Includes French, German and Catalan broadcasters amongst others.
- Giornali.itLinks to the latest editions of the Italian newspapers.
- Historic Italian newspapersCollection of digitised newspapers from 1759-1911.
- Italian mediaLinks to Italian TV, radio and newspapers online.
- La Stampa historical archiveFrom 1867 to the present.
- Nexis® Uni - UK, international and business news This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni enables you to search across local and major UK and international newspapers, business and industry trade magazines, business news, company information, press agencies and magazines from 1990s to present day, in various languages.
- Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di FirenzeItalian national library in Florence.
- Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di RomaItalian national library in Rome.
- British Institute of Florence libraryContains over 50,000 books published between the 16th and 21st centuries, with particular focus on History of Art, English and Italian literature and language, History, Travel, The Grand Tour, and Music.
- Catalogo del Servizio Bibliotecario NazionaleSearch the catalogues of the Italian national libraries and other major libraries.
- Early European Books This link opens in a new windowDraws together a diverse array of printed sources from major European libraries, covering 15th to 17th century.
- Italian archival sourcesList of primary sources for Italian history, maintained by the European University Institute.
- Italian Cultural Institute in LondonThe official Italian governmental body dedicated to promoting Italian language and culture in England and Wales. Includes a library.
- Italy: British Library guide for researchersGuide to the research collections at the British Library and elsewhere, relating to Italy, written by subject experts.
IPTV is managed by the Language Resource Centre, and is available across campus. It provides access to live satellite TV channels from several countries, as well as several hundred feature films and documentaries in many languages, including English, French, Italian, Spanish and Chinese.
Please find below some other learning resources that you will find useful in your Italian studies:
- Larousse bilingual dictionariesFree access to bilingual dictionaries, covering French, German, Spanish, Italian and Chinese.
- Newcastle University language resource centreThis centre provides learning resources in over 50 languages and in many different formats. The web site includes an online catalogue and links to useful online resources.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe online version of the Oxford English Dictionary
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new windowFully searchable bilingual dictionaries. We have access to French, German, Spanish, Chinese and Italian.
- Accademia della CruscaThe official society for the Italian language. Has English and Italian versions.
- Italian linksUseful links compiled by Italian librarians.
Relevant Subject Guides
