Every subject area has unique and specialist types of information, which mean that you need to look beyond Library Search. Some types of information are accessed via specialist databases, for example newspapers, while others are available online.
- Campaign for Science and Engineering (CaSE)The UK’s leading independent advocate for science and engineering with a mission focus on skills, funding and policies.
- Challenger Society for Marine ScienceThe Challenger Society for Marine Science is a learned society for marine scientists in the UK.
- Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species (CITES)Aims to ensure that international trade in specimens of wild animals and plants does not threaten their survival.
- Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology (IMarEST)The international professional body and learned society for all marine professionals.
- International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)A membership union that is the global authority on the status of the natural world and the measures needed to safeguard it.
- Marine Biological Association (MBA)One of the world’s longest-running societies dedicated to promoting research into our oceans and the life they support.
- Marine Conservation SocietyThe UK’s leading charity for the protection of our seas, shores and wildlife.
- Marine Management Organisation (MMO)An executive non-departmental public body which licenses, regulates and plans marine activities in the seas around England.
- Royal Society of Biology (RSB)A single unified voice for biology, advising Government, influencing policy, advancing education and professional development.
- Society for Underwater Technology (SUT)Multidisciplinary society uniting groups and individuals interested in underwater technology, ocean science and offshore engineering.
- UK Chamber of ShippingTrade association and voice of the UK shipping industry with more than 180 members from across the maritime sector.
- United Nations Oceans and Law of the Sea (UNCLOS)Key information about UNCLOS and links to related bodies established by the Convention.
- IPCC Special Report on the Ocean and Cryosphere in a Changing Climate (SROCC)Report outlining the latest scientific knowledge for the physical science basis of climate change and it impacts.
- Admiralty EasyTideTidal prediction service.
- Aquatic NetworkInformation service and provider of aquaculture and aquaponics resources.
- British Oceanographic Data CentreA national facility for preserving and distributing marine data
- CellRepoCreated by an international team led by researchers at Newcastle University, this species and strain database uses cell barcodes to monitor and track engineered organisms. This version control in cell engineering supports open and reproducible science.
- IUCN Red List of Threatened SpeciesAn indicator of the health of the world’s biodiversity and a powerful tool to inform and catalyse action for conservation and policy.
- The International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES)Intergovernmental marine science organisation sharing impartial evidence on the state and sustainable use of seas and oceans.
- Marine DigimapRaster nautical charts derived from UK Hydrographic Office charts and panels and vector data covering all UK waters.
- MarLIN: The Marine Life Information NetworkInformation on the biology of species and the ecology of habitats found around the coasts and seas of the British Isles.
- National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)A leading authority on environmental information including comprehensive oceanic, atmospheric and geophysical data.
- The National Oceanography CentreThe United Kingdom’s centre of excellence for oceanographic sciences.
- The National Tidal and Sea Level Facility (NTSLF)UK centre of excellence for sea level monitoring, coastal flood forecasting and the analysis of sea level extremes.
- NOAA Coral Reef Watch (CRW)NOAA Coral Reef Watch (CRW) has been using remote sensing, modeled, and in situ data to operate a decision support system (DSS) to help resource managers (our target audience), researchers, decision makers, and other stakeholders around the world prepare for and respond to coral reef ecosystem stressors, predominantly resulting from climate change and warming of the Earth's oceans.
- NOAA FisheriesNOAA Fisheries is responsible for the stewardship of the nation's ocean resources and their habitat.
- Ocean Data View (ODV)Exploration, analysis and visualization of oceanographic and other geo-referenced profile, time-series, trajectory or sequence data.
- Palau International Coral Reef CenterPalau’s leading research and aquarium institution guiding efforts to support coral reef stewardship through research and application.
- Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS)WCS's goal is to conserve the world's largest wild places in 16 priority regions, home to more than 50% of the world's biodiversity.
- SeawebSeaWeb is the only international, nonprofit organization exclusively dedicated to strategically communicating about ocean issues.
Resource Guides
Other Local Resources
The
The library has four collections, the most important of these to students of natural and environmental sciences is the Library of the Natural History Society of Northumbria (see next tab).
The library has three PCs which are connected to the Newcastle University network and access to the University’s wifi service is also available. A dedicated online catalogue provides access to all of the holdings in the library. Quiet study space is available and advice and guidance is provided by dedicated staff.
The Archives and t
he Library of the Natural History Society of Northumbria are housed in the GNM Hancock Library. The Library was established in 1829 when the Society was founded. The collection now comprises over 10,000 books and 500 periodicals, of which some 100 are current. It holds a wealth of material on natural history, particularly that of the North East of England. It also contains current material on subjects including flora and fauna, ornithology, geology, ecology, the history of natural history and biodiversity.
The collection incorporates material published in the 16th century, such as Pierre Belon’s “Histoire de la Nature des Oyseaux” and William Turner’s “A New Herball”, as well as a number of titles from the 17th and 18th centuries. Included in the Rare Books area of the Library are the finely-bound illustrated works donated by William C. Hewitson and the collection of books relating to the Newcastle illustrator Thomas Bewick. Other notable collections include complete sets of the publications of the Ray Society, the Palaeontographical Society and the Collins New Naturalists Series.
The Archives of the Natural History Society of Northumbria are also located in the Library, providing an important resource for the study of the history of natural history in the North East of England. The Archive covers all aspects of natural history, zoology, botany and geology and includes internationally important material, notably the original watercolours, pencil drawings and proof engravings by Thomas Bewick, the Northumbria-born naturalist and wood engraver.
The collections contain many photographs, manuscript letters, diaries, notebooks and other autograph material relating to renowned northern naturalists such as Bewick, Abel Chapman, George Bolam, John Hancock , William Hewitson, Thomas Bold, Thomas Atthey and many others. In addition, the Society’s own records, dating from its foundation in 1829, form one of the most complete accounts of the history of a natural history society and its museum collections in existence.
The Library is open to everyone with no membership required but please speak to the Library staff before travelling. The Archive material is available to view by appointment only. Please contact the GNM Hancock Library to arrange a visit.