It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Every subject area has unique and specialist types of information, which mean that you need to look beyond Library Search. Some types of information are accessed via specialist databases, for example newspapers, while others are available online.
Charles Avison (1709-1770) was born in Newcastle and became England’s most important eighteenth-century concerto composer. Newcastle City Library houses The Avison Archive in conjunction with The Avison Society.
Joseph Hornsby is a Northumbrian fiddler with an extensive multimedia archive of traditional Scottish country dance music. This online archive (a project based in ICMuS) has a fascinating social history as well as great musical value, and is a valuable resource for musicians and scholars alike.
The largest database of online music journalism, providing access to thousands of interviews, reviews and articles about artists of all genres, from Aaliyah to ZZ Top. Coverage dates back 50 years, and also includes 500 audio interviews.
Read our blog post for more information about this resource.
Our Media Room on Level 4 contains various music collections on microfilm and microfiche, including Manuscript collection of the British Library; Music collection of Christ Church; Music collection of the Cambridge Libraries.
An extensive statistics platform covering over 1.5 million data sets (and adding an additional 500 each day) with revenue forecasts from 2015 to 2022 on over 400 industries. Data is collected from over 22,500 sources covering over 75,000 different topics.
Box of Broadcasts provides access to over 2.2 million TV and radio broadcasts from over 75 channels, including most of the UK’s freeview network, all BBC TV and radio content from 2007, and several foreign language channels. This resource is not available outside the UK.
Read our blog post for useful tips about using this resource.