We have thousands of journals and databases selected by your Schools to support teaching and research. There are so many, that it can be difficult to know which ones are the best to use, so we have grouped them together for you! Use the 'everything' search in Library Search to find articles, conference papers, journals and more, or Browzine to browse the e-journal titles in your subject.
Key Databases and eJournal Collections
Below is a list of key databases and eJournal collections in your subject. They will either provide you with the full text of the journal or they will give you the bibliographic details of an article. If we have access to this item on another one of our subscriptions you will see the 'find@newcastle' option next to the item. Follow this link to find out if we have the full text available.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowThe Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts is a complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest XML) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and articles published about modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Links to full text where available.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a large, multidisciplinary database, which indexes peer reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and trade publications. It provides cited reference searching, so you can navigate forward and backward through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research and set up citation alerts. Other useful tools include citation overviews, author and affiliation searching, visual analysis of search results and a journal analyser and author identifier tools (if you are interested in publishing work).
All databases should have a help section with tips and tricks on how to get the best out of using them, so do make yourself familiar with them. You also may find the following helpful:
Historical Abstracts
- EBSCO Host supportVideo Tutorials of help and support. Useful when learning how to use the Historical Abstracts database.
JSTOR
- JSTOR supportHelp and support on how to search on JSTOR
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
- ProQuest supportVideo tutorials of help and support. Useful when learning how to use 'Linguistics and language behaviour abstracts'
MLA International Bibliography
- MLA International BibliographyVideo tutorials of help and support. Make sure you select the EBSCO Host videos rather than ProQuest or Gale.
Scopus
- Scopus TutorialsStep by step visual guides to searching Scopus.
- Scopus supportHelp and support on how to access and use Scopus
