Useful Links:
Every subject area has unique and specialist types of information, which mean that you need to look beyond Library Search. Some types of information are accessed via specialist databases, for example newspapers, while others are available online.
Resource Guides
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new windowBox of Broadcasts provides access to over 2.2 million TV and radio broadcasts from over 75 channels, including most of the UK’s freeview network, all BBC TV and radio content from 2007, and several foreign language channels. This resource is not available outside the UK.
- EUscreenFree online access to video, stills and audio from selected European broadcasters from 1900-present. Includes French, German and Catalan broadcasters amongst others.
- Nexis® Uni - international and business news This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni enables you to search across major UK and international newspapers, business and industry trade magazines, business news, company information, press agencies and magazines from 1990s to present day, in various languages. It includes nearly all UK national and regional newspapers.
IPTV is managed by the Language Resource Centre, and is available across campus. It provides access to live satellite TV channels from several countries, as well as several hundred feature films and documentaries in many languages, including English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Chinese.
Please find below some other learning resources that you will find useful in your studies:
- Larousse bilingual dictionariesFree access to bilingual dictionaries, covering French, German, Spanish, Italian and Chinese.
- Newcastle University language resource centreThis centre provides learning resources in over 50 languages and in many different formats. The web site includes an online catalogue and links to useful online resources.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe online version of the Oxford English Dictionary
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new windowFully searchable bilingual dictionaries. We have access to French, German, Spanish, Chinese and Italian.
- Index TranslationumInternational bibliography of translations, created in 1932.
- Official EU Translation resourcesUseful resources for translators from the EU's official translating and interpreting directorate. Includes online dictionaries and term banks for all EU member languages.
- The Rosetta ProjectA global collaboration of language specialists and native speakers building a publicly accessible online archive of ALL documented human languages. Find audio, video and text files in this wiki.
- WordSmith ToolsAn integrated suite of programs for looking at how words behave in texts.
Relevant Subject Guides
