LibGuides: Audiovisual resources: Films and documentaries

Films and documentaries

Films and documentaries
News and television programmes

BFI Player
11,000 archive films are available to watch free on BFI Player from the British Film Institute's national and regional archives.

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Box of Broadcasts provides access to over 2.2 million TV and radio broadcasts from over 75 channels, including most of the UK’s freeview network, all BBC TV and radio content from 2007, and several foreign language channels. This resource is not available outside the UK.
Read our blog post for useful tips about using this resource.

Box of Broadcasts: get the best out of it
Tips to help you get the best out of this great resource.
BUFVC Gateway
Over 2,000 websites relating to moving image and sound materials, arranged by subject area.

Drama Online This link opens in a new window
This comprises the text of over 2,300 international plays, from ancient Greek drama to contemporary works; film and audio recordings of productions, and contextual resources relating to drama theory and practice. NEW for 2021/22! We have just bought access to over 600 new playtexts and a new Globe on Film collection.
Read our blog post for the latest information about this resource.

Europeana
Explore millions of images, films and other archival material from galleries, museums, archives and libraries across Europe. Search by topic and refine by copyright to find reusable materials. Can also refine to find images, films, audio etc.
Film Archives UK
Brings together archival organisations and individuals interested in the UK's public sector film archives.
Free films online
Over 4,000 films online from the Open Culture site.
Free movies: Internet Archive
Thousands of films online, including full-length feature films, classic shorts, home movies, world culture documentaries and movie trailers.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand film streaming platform providing access to over 30,000 films. Films include classic and contemporary feature films, together with documentaries across a wide range of subject areas.

Library of Congress digital collections
The Library of Congress' digital library containing millions of items, including maps, photographs, documents, audio and video, relating to American history and life. Click film, photographs etc in the drop down search box to limit by format.

BBC Archive
Themed collections from the BBC archives, including TV and radio clips as well as background information.

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Box of Broadcasts provides access to over 2.2 million TV and radio broadcasts from over 75 channels, including most of the UK’s freeview network, all BBC TV and radio content from 2007, and several foreign language channels. This resource is not available outside the UK.
Read our blog post for useful tips about using this resource.

British Pathé
British Pathé is a newsreel archive. Spanning the years from 1896-1978, the entire archive of 85,000 films is available to view for free on the British Pathé website.
EUscreen
Free online access to video, stills and audio from selected European broadcasters from 1900-present. Includes French, German and Catalan broadcasters amongst others.
ITN Video Archive
The ITN Video Archive is a repository of British cultural history, featuring news footage from ITN’s first broadcasts in 1955 to the present day. ITN makes award-winning daily news programmes for ITV, Channel 4 and Channel 5.

News on Screen
Contains 170,000 records of British newsreel and cinemagazine production and a large collection of digitised documents, including production documents, oral histories and details of people, series and stories linked to newsreels.
TRILT (Television and Radio Index for Teaching and Learning)
Search listings for over 560 UK TV and radio channels from 1923 onwards. Some pre-2007 broadcasts are available to order (for post-2007, use Box of Broadcasts).

IPTV: Film and Television online

IPTV is managed by the Language Resource Centre, and is available across campus. It provides access to live satellite TV channels from several countries, as well as several hundred feature films and documentaries in many languages, including English, French, Spanish and Chinese.

Subject support guide

Audiovisual resources

Films and documentaries

IPTV: Film and Television online