When looking for academic journal articles you can use the 'everything' search in Library Search or search directly in the databases below, which we’ve selected as being most relevant to your subject area.
Databases are the best place to find academic journal articles as they offer advanced search tools, metric data, and export options for referencing. These databases also often provide access to information types such as conference papers, book chapters, review articles, trade magazines, and more. BrowZine can also be used to explore e-journal titles in your subject.
While most of our collection is now available digitally, some titles may only be accessible in print. You can find these journal titles using an ‘everything except articles’ search in Library Search.
You’ll also find links to essential reading for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas.
Key Databases and E-journal Collections
Databases will either provide you with the full text of the journal or they will give you the bibliographic details of an article. Where full text is not available, look for the
link and follow this to see if we have the full text available via Library Search.
Subject databases
Subject databases are tailored to particular subject areas. They tend to use precise terminology relating to the subject area, making searches more accurate, and can include subject specific tools and features.
Bibliographic databases give you an overview of the literature in a subject area. They provide an index to journal articles and conference papers from a wide range of publishers.
- CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCAB Abstracts is a comprehensive agriculture and land use database, containing information from 1910 to date
- Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Compendex® in Engineering Village is an interdisciplinary engineering database with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields. Numeric data is indexed so results can be filtered within specific data parameters.
- EcoCyc This link opens in a new windowEcoCyc is a scientific database for the bacterium Escherichia coli K-12 MG1655. The EcoCyc project performs literature-based curation of the entire genome, and of transcriptional regulation, transporters, and metabolic pathways.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new windowIs a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. Approximately 375,000 records are added yearly.
- ENDS Report This link opens in a new windowAnalyses environmental policy and legislation and offers commentary and analysis on the implications for business across the carbon, environmental and sustainability agenda.
- Greenfile This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.
- JSTOR Plant Science This link opens in a new windowGlobal Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens
- Knovel eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
As well as all aspects of engineering, Knovel is useful for biotechnology, computing, food science, marine technology, molecular biology and chemistry. Subjects covered include technical reference books. There are Interactive graphs and tables,material and substance properties data and interactive equations. The Data Search tool can be used to build queries around different materials or substances.
- Medline (OVID) This link opens in a new windowThe key database for medicine and related disciplines The database indexes articles in medical, dental and biomedical journals. Its coverage includes approximately 5600 international journals. Medline indexes articles published since 1946 and is updated monthly.
- MetaCyc Metabolic Pathway Database This link opens in a new windowMetaCyc is a curated database of experimentally elucidated metabolic pathways from all domains of life. It contains pathways involved in both primary and secondary metabolism, as well as associated metabolites, reactions, enzymes, and genes. You can use MetaCyc to predict metabolic pathways in sequenced genomes, support metabolic engineering via enzyme database and conduct metabolomics research via Metabolite database.
- PLANTS Database This link opens in a new windowStandardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
- Policy Commons: Global Think TanksGlobal Think Tanks is a collection of objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. It provides in-depth search and access to some 5 million reports from over 25,000 organisations.
- Proquest Natural Science This link opens in a new windowThe Natural Science Collection includes key agriculture, aquatic science, biology, dentistry and nutrition databases, with many full text journals.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowReaxys is a powerful chemistry data-searching tool designed to retrieve chemical reactions, substances and their properties, patent data and more. Reaxys can be searched in a number of ways, including by chemical structure, formula, and physical property parameters. Designed by chemists, Reaxys is a chemical sciences research solution that delivers facts the way chemists need them. NOTE: A personal account is needed to use this database, click on 'Activate personalization' or 'Not registered?' to set up an account. The registration process only needs to be completed once.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowScifinder-n is a powerful, chemist-curated database from CAS offering reference, substance and reaction searching with sophisticated analysis tools. Substances can be searched by chemical structure, markush (for Patents), molecular formula, property or substance identifier. All alternative substance names are listed alongside CAS Registry numbers and commercial sources. Tools including MethodsNow (showing every experimental step for ease of replication in the lab) and PatentPak (enabling you to get straight to the novel chemistry information in a Patent document). NOTE: When accessing SciFinder-n for the first time, you will be asked to enter your Newcastle University email address and to confirm this via a verification code. Once you have confirmed the verification code, you will be given access to SciFinder-n and you won't need to confirm your identity the next time you access it.
- Springer ProtocolsPeer-reviewed life science and biomedical research protocols compiled from Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, Neuromethods, the Biomethods Handbook, the Proteomics Handbook, and Springer Laboratory Manuals.
- TechRxivTechRxiv (pronounced "tech archive") is an open, moderated preprint server for unpublished research in electrical engineering, computer science, and related technology.
- World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS) This link opens in a new windowThe aim of a World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS) is to provide an authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, including information on synonymy. While the highest priority goes to valid names, other names in use are included so that this register can serve as a guide to interpret taxonomic literature.
- Invasive Species CompendiumDatasheets, maps, images, abstracts and full text on invasive species of the world.
- Plantwise Knowledge BankA global programme led by CABI, which helps farmers lose less of what they grow to plant health problems.
- World Checklist of Selected Plant Families (WCSP)WCSP is an international collaborative programme that provides the latest peer reviewed and published opinions on the accepted scientific names and synonyms of selected plant families.It allows you to search for all the scientific names of a particular plant, or the areas of the world in which it grows (distribution).
- Wiley Digital Archives: Environmental science and history.Explores critical aspects of anthropogenic change, with unique and rare archival collections from multiple, global sources, including collections on Deforestation, Agriculture, Livestock, and Fisheries (Food Production); Ecology, Botany, Biodiversity, and Extinction; Water Sources, Irrigation, Wetlands, and Hydrology.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO): Science, Technology and Medicine (Part 1)
This collection traces the emergence and dissemination of scientific ideas during the "long" nineteenth century that preceded 1800 and extended to 1925. Covering science, social sciences, medicine and technology, journals and monographs allow you to track key debates and explore major episodes in the history of science.
eJournal collections, whilst not as comprehensive as databases, will normally give you subject focused results and often include the full text. Key Biology and Zoology eJournal collections include:
- American Society for Microbiology Journals This link opens in a new windowFull text of journals from the ASM 1916 onwards
- arXiv This link opens in a new windowAn open access archive for nearly 2.4 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Not peer-reviewed.
- BioMed Central This link opens in a new windowBioMed Central is an EJ collection specifically for biomedical sciences
- bioRxivbioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is an open access online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. Covers subject such as animal behaviour, biochemistry, bioengineering, biology, genetics, pharmacology, Zoology and more.
- CSIRO Journals This link opens in a new windowFull text journals from CSIRO publishing, Australia's Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable database providing full-text access to over 450 Sage titles. We have full-text access to almost all of them from 1999 onwards.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect provides full text-access to journal articles published by Elsevier.
- CogPrintsSelf archiving subject repository for all aspects of cognition science.
- CAB Abstracts Basic Searching - TutorialThis tutorial demonstrates a basic search on CAB Abstracts.
- Knovel LibGuideResources and tools to get started with—and the get the most out of—Knovel.
- RxED: Learning Chemistry with ReaxysReaxys tutorial video playlist. Educational material to support learning chemistry concepts and digital chemistry literacy with Reaxys.
- ScienceDirect LibGuideHelp and support on how to access and use Science direct
- SciFinder-n help videosShort videos of training tips from CAS products.
- Scopus LibGuideHelp and support on how to access and use Scopus.
- Web of Science helpVideo tutorials and guides.
Multidisciplinary databases
Much like Library Search, multidisciplinary databases cover a wide range of topics and are a great place to scope your search, or to use if your topic covers more than one subject area.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowAs a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource, this database indexes peer-reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and trade publications. It supports cited reference searching to explore the literature in depth, along with tools for citation tracking, author and affiliation searches, visual analysis of results, journal analysis, and author identification for those interested in publishing.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database, which indexes scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters and conference proceedings. It provides cited reference searching, so you can navigate forward and backward through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research. Use citation reports to see citation activity and geographical trends and the ‘analyse results’ tool to identify trends and publication patterns.
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
