LibGuides: Theses and Dissertations: Theses and Dissertations

Finding Theses

Newcastle University Theses
UK and Irish Theses

Print Theses

The Library holds copies of all Newcastle University PhD theses and copies of theses written for other research degrees such as DSc, MD, LLD, DEng, DBA, EdD, MPhil.

All theses held by the Library are listed in LibrarySearch. Links are provided to the full text where this is available.

Electronic Theses

Our repository of electronic theses contains the full text of over 3,800 Newcastle University doctoral theses.

EThOS
Search the details of over 500,000 UK theses dating back to 1800. The full text of over half of these is available for immediate download to registered users, and in other cases, you may be able to request a copy in digital or other format (for which there may be a charge).

*EThOS is currently unavailable owing to the cyber attack on the British Library. Whilst the British Library is working to restore access to EThOS their online catalogue now provides access to digital doctoral theses held in UK institutional repositories. Using Advanced search and selecting 'Theses' from 'Material Type' dropdown menu is recommended.
As an alternative to EThOS, you can also use use ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global to locate theses accepted for higher degrees at universities in the UK and Ireland or try Library Hub Discover to search the online catalogues of some of the UK’s largest university research libraries to see if a thesis is held by another UK library.

International Theses

There isn't one single source for finding non-UK theses, and access options will vary according to the institution, but the links below give the best starting points.

Australian Theses
Search almost a million Australian theses.
DART Europe
Access to over 600,000 open access research theses from 28 European countries.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
This database provides access to the full text of thousands of international theses and dissertations.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. OATD currently indexes over two million theses and dissertations from over 1,000 institutions worldwide.
PQTD Open
Search and read open access dissertations and theses from the USA.

Proquest Dissertation Express (international) This link opens in a new window
Over two million graduate works from graduate schools around the world including American and Canada. Theses and dissertations may be available to purchase direct from ProQuest using the order forms provided. Please consult the help section to see how you can order and pay for these dissertations yourself.
Proquest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index
A curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses, offering over 5.5 million records representing dissertations and theses from thousands of universities around the world. Useful for all subjects.

Thesis production

The Student Progress Office provides information on Research Degree Examination Procedures and Forms, including the University's Guidelines for the Submission and Format of Theses and Library Deposit Licence. You may also wish to speak to your supervisor for advice on thesis presentation.

Guidelines for the Submission and Format of Theses

Subject support guide

Theses and Dissertations

Finding Theses

International Theses

Thesis production