You’ll find the books you need to read for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas. For independent research, use an ‘everything except articles’ search on Library Search or browse our e-book collections.
Library Search
Library Search is our library catalogue; a powerful search engine that holds records for all the physical and electronic items that you have access to here at Newcastle University.
You can use Library Search to find a specific title or works by a particular author, or you can browse information available by topic. It’s an excellent place to start your independent research as it covers all subject areas.
Find out more about Library Search and how to search the catalogue effectively on the Library Search page of the Academic Skills Kit.
E-book Collections
Library Search enables you to search across all print and e-book collections. However, if you want to search / browse e-books from a particular supplier or collection, you’ll find links to subject specific e-book collections below:
- Cambridge University Press online books This link opens in a new window
Access to over 33,000 e-books and includes leading titles in over 30 subjects across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology & Medicine.
- ICE Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
The Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) Virtual Library contains every peer-reviewed technical paper published by the Institution of Civil Engineers from 1836. Covers topics such as buildings and structures, coastal and offshore engineering, urban engineering, geology, geotechnical and ground engineering, transportation, and water engineering and wastewater management.
- IEEE/Wiley eBooks This link opens in a new window
IEEE Wiley eBook collection provides full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
- IEEE Xplore MIT Press eBooks Library : Computing & Engineering Collection. This link opens in a new window
The MIT Press eBooks Library offers access to titles in computer science, artificial intelligence, information technology and electrical engineering.
- IET Digital Library eBooks This link opens in a new window
E-books published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), and covers topics such as built environment, computing, robotics, energy, radar, sonar, navigation, telecommunications, transportation and more! **Please note that we only have access to full text eBooks from 2009-2023**
- Institute of Physics (IOP) eBooks This link opens in a new windowIOP ebooks brings together innovative digital publishing with leading voices from across physics to create the essential collection of physics books for a digital world. Created through collaboration with leading researchers in their field, IOP ebooks feature must-read content for the physics community.
- IGI Global ebooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 6,000 reference books on a wide range of subjects, such as: Business & management, computer science, education, law, media & communications, medicine, engineering, social sciences and humanities.
- Knovel eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
As well as all aspects of engineering, Knovel is useful for biotechnology, computing, food science, marine technology, molecular biology and chemistry. Subjects covered include technical reference books. There are Interactive graphs and tables,material and substance properties data and interactive equations. The Data Search tool can be used to build queries around different materials or substances.
- Lyell Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Lyell Collection represents one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth Science literature available.
- SpringerLink books : engineering, 2020.The books in this collection cover engineering and many related fields including engineering control, electrical engineering, computational engineering, mechanics engineering, thermodynamics and civil engineering.
- SpringerLink Books Engineering 2018This eBook collection covers topics such as including autonomous driving, genetic engineering, power electronics, renewable energy and more.
- SpringerLink Books Engineering 2017This collection covers some of the most topical subjects of modern times such as autonomous driving, genetic engineering, and robotics.
Related topics in Library Help
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
