Skip to Main Content

Subject support guide

Library Search My Account

Company information

Your guide to researching companies

What is FAME?

Provided by Bureau van Dijk, FAME covers UK and Irish companies. You are able to search for individual companies and create a peer comparison based on a range of criteria. Data in FAME includes company accounts, ratios, activities, ownership and management for the largest 1.9 million UK and Irish companies, summary information for a further 900,000 smaller businesses. Company levels are:
  •  Turnover > £1.5 million,
  • Profits > £150,000,
  • Shareholder Funds > £1.5 million

Find UK  company and industry information in FAME

Once logged into FAME, you will see the Help Menu at the top of the screen. It provides comprehensive guidance on using all of the features of Fame, including creating a basic search, exploring peer analysis and using the analysis tools. The guidance includes videos, written instructions and walk throughs, that will teach you how to use FAME by leading you through the steps as you search within the database. We recommend the walk throughs as the best way to learn how to use FAME.

What is Orbis Europe?

Provided by Moody's/Bureau van Dijk, Orbis Europe covers over 128 million companies throughout Europe, including including Eastern Europe, Germany, France, Italy, Ukraine and Russian Federation. You are able to search for individual companies and create a peer comparison based on a range of criteria. Data in Orbis Europe includes standardised annual accounts (for up to 10 years), consolidated and unconsolidated, financial ratios, activities and ownership. Company levels are:
  • Operating revenue > €15 million
  • Total assets > €30 million
  • Number of employees > 150

Find European company and industry information in Amadeus

What is Orbis Asia Pacific?

Provided by Moody's Bureau van Dijk, Orbis Asia Pacific covers over 80,000 companies across the Asia-Pacific region, including China, Singapore, Hong Kong and India. You are able to search for individual companies and create a peer comparison based on a range of criteria. Data in Oriana includes accounts, financial ratios, activities, ownership and management. Company levels are:
  • Operating revenue >= 100 million EUR (130 million USD),
  • Total assets >= 200 million EUR (260 million USD),
  • Number of employees >= 1,000

Once logged into the Orbis Asia Pacific you will find a comprehensive help section, including step-by-step guides and tutorials.