You’ll find the books you need to read for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas. For independent research, use an ‘everything except articles’ search on Library Search or browse our e-book collections.
Library Search
Library Search is our library catalogue; a powerful search engine that holds records for all the physical and electronic items that you have access to here at Newcastle University.
You can use Library Search to find a specific title or works by a particular author, or you can browse information available by topic. It’s an excellent place to start your independent research as it covers all subject areas.
Find out more about Library Search and how to search the catalogue effectively on the Library Search page of the Academic Skills Kit.
E-book Collections
Library Search enables you to search across all print and e-book collections. However, if you want to search / browse e-books from a particular supplier or collection, you’ll find links to subject specific e-book collections below:
- CAB e-books This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of full text e-books, covering many key agriculture and rural studies books as well as Animal & Veterinary Sciences, Human Health and Plant Sciences.
- Cambridge University Press online books This link opens in a new windowThis platform provides an extensive collection of online books through its primary academic site, Cambridge Core. It includes research monographs, academic reference works, textbooks, and resources for professionals and graduate students. You can find leading titles in various subjects, including Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowEbook platform offering a wide range of e-books from scholarly sources, including university presses and leading publishers.
- ICE Virtual Library This link opens in a new windowThis Virtual Library includes all peer-reviewed technical papers published by the Institution of Civil Engineers since 1836. It covers a wide range of topics, including buildings and structures, coastal and offshore engineering, urban engineering, geology, geotechnical and ground engineering, transportation, as well as water engineering and wastewater management.
- IEEE/Wiley eBooks This link opens in a new windowThis eBook collection covers various subjects, including electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics, alongside emerging research areas such as bioengineering, power and energy, and communication technologies.
- IEEE Xplore MIT Press eBooks Library : Computing & Engineering Collection. This link opens in a new windowThe library offers online access to titles in fields including computer science, artificial intelligence, information theory, computer programming, information technology, and electrical engineering.
- IET Digital Library eBooks This link opens in a new windowThe IET Digital Library provides a comprehensive collection of eBooks, journals, conference publications, and seminar digests that cover a wide range of engineering and technology topics. These topics include the built environment, computing, robotics, energy, radar, sonar, navigation, telecommunications, transportation, and more.
- IGI Global ebooks This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of reference books covering various subjects, including business and management, computer science, education, law, media and communications, medicine, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.
- Knovel eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThis e-book collection is valuable across various engineering fields, including biotechnology, computing, food science, marine technology, molecular biology, and chemistry. The platform also includes technical reference books, interactive graphs and tables, and data on material and substance properties. Additionally, the Data Search tool allows users to create queries focused on different materials or substances.
- Lyell Collection This link opens in a new window
One of the largest integrated collections of online Earth Science literature available.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window
A large database of peer-reviewed, full-text scientific, technical and health literature published by Elsevier.
- SpringerLink Books: Earth and Environmental Science (2020)
Up-to-date resources from trusted authors working around the world on topics such as water management, ecology, geology, environmental biotechnology, and sustainable development.
- SpringerLink Books: Earth and Environmental Science (2020)
Up-to-date resources from trusted authors working around the world on topics such as water management, ecology, geology, environmental biotechnology, and sustainable development.
- SpringerLink Books: Environmental Science
This collection brings together up-to-date resources on topics including water management, ecology, geology, environmental biotechnology, and sustainable development.
- Taylor & Francis environment and sustainability books
Covering all areas of sustainability and the environment, this portfolio of books and journals contains the latest research on climate change, natural resources, sustainable energy, and business and development.
We run trials of new subscription products relating to your subject area by mutual agreement with academic staff – see our subject support blog for the latest.
Related topics in Library Help
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
